Enjoy the magical landscape of rural Sussex and picturesque lake in Henfield, UK whilst helping our family and homestead


United Kingdom


Favourited 295 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    My partner Alex and I and our two children - Cordelia (8) and Sherlock (4) live on the most idyllic land (8 acres) in West Sussex close to the bustling city of Brighton.

    We are surrounded by rolling fields and a picturesque lake which is a home to lots of birds and wildlife and as you drive down the track leading to our house you feel as though you're entering deepest countryside, yet in 10 minutes walk you are at a thriving village called Henfield with shops, cafes and pubs.
    20 minutes drive from us is the student-city of Brighton which has an independent culture and lots of going out and shopping options - should you desire them!

    We have several out-buildings, glamping dome, Tiny House and a party-barn which a few times a year we hire out for weddings and events, and Air BnB every weekend too. This summer we're also hosting a few yoga retreats.

    There is always lots going on around us - we both have busy lives and there are always people coming and going around the farm, and we're very flexible to the assistance we are given, and can usually find a use for anyone!

    Our set-up would suit a couple due to the split of tasks we have to do - some physical and some child-based, and there is always help needed around the garden and house...these tasks include building-work (under the supervision of our builder), painting, cleaning, looking after the animals, and we'll be shortly building a yurt and decorating it, and adding a hot tub area too.
    We also need assistance with our 2 children, and there is daily housekeeping.

    We are looking for couples who can stay for 1 - 2 months, who are helpful, proactive and practical and who are looking to get stuck into our projects whilst they're with us.
    You will be accommodated in room in our guest-house which has full facilities (kitchen, dishwasher, bath etc).

    Driving is necessary because schools are quite far away, and we provide you with a car when needed. And we have bicycles you can borrow to explore the locality (there are lots of picturesque bridal-paths in the locality to be able to explore).

    We require 5 hours per day, 5 days per week of assistance. Extra hours are paid at £10 per hour.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Aside from English language and culture the interesting bird-life in the surrounding areas (including our own chickens, ducks, peacocks and moorhens) could be studied.
    Nearby Knepp Castle is a nature reserve renound for it's 're-wilding' which is often extremely interesting for visitors to visit.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    Mainly we require assistance involving housekeeping, helping with the kids (school-run and babysitting) gardening, general maintenance, animal husbandry (helping with the chickens).

    We'll also be shortly working out how to put up a yurt, and under the supervision of our builder - converting a log-shed into a family snug room, clearing a yard out, doing some painting inside and out, tiling a new courtyard, and we've got a boat that we'd like to turn into a pirate ship for the kids!

    When you contact me let me know your skills and what you enjoy doing and we can work out a way of accommodating you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Accommodation would be in your own room in the guest Annexe which has a kitchen and bathroom. We provide a food allowence so you can cook independently, but encourage 'family' meals where we all share a meal together bi-weekly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surrounding areas are stunning - with vineyards, cycle tracks, walks, historical sights, not to mention market-towns and Brighton which is an alternative music and arts focused city is just 25 minutes away by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.3)

Host ref number: 529211115644