1 / 4

Live with an anthropologist and painter in the Camino de Santiago, Mondoñedo, Spain

  • Favourited 38 times
  • Last activity: 8 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    People with carpenter and masonery skills needed to make different arrangements in and old stone country house

    Hi!! My name is Karmela, I´m a spanish woman who lives in an old stone-wood house in the galician country side, almost in the frontier with Asturias, at 150 kms from Santiago de Compostela, on the North Way to Santiago. I´m Anthropologist and Painter, lived many years in Latin América working in human rights and local development with NGO´s and international organizations, and once I came back to Spain I decided to make the Camino de Santiago, and finally, to stay in it.

    So, from almost eleven years ago I live in a beautiful and very little village in the mountains close to the Cantabric sea. The idea is to recuperate and old house, to live in the most ecological way it´s possible, and to prepare the land for the traditional beautiful forest (oaks, chestnuts, yews, alders, birchs, elders...) and landscape, erradicating the eucaliptus from, at least, my territory.

    I live alone with my cat Wara (means "star" in Quechua), but there are many often friends at home, sometime to participate in any cultural activity (I organize several of them along the year at home). Often, anyway, I visit them in other villages or little towns around, such as Ribadeo, Vegadeo, Navia, etc.

    I live out of selling some of my paintings and art work. I am also a qualified Spanish Teacher.

    Many often I need people to help me, mainly to make reforms in the house, some gardening or forestry. In return, I promise to feed you well, to teach you some Spanish, and to show you the local area, which it´s full of beauty.

    What can I say about myself? I like cinema, reading and good music. I like a good conversation and I´m very curious about other people´s customs, history and traditions, but I also like to be alone sometimes. Love nature and art.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer a very unique and multicultural experience, as I live in the Camino de Santiago and sometimes pilgrims stop in the house (don't worry, you won't have to take care of them!!!). I can also help with Spanish to the person/s who stay with me and show a little bit the local area, which is very beautiful.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello!! I really need help along june, july, august or september from a carpenter and mason or someone with good wood and building working skills. Basically, I have to make two floors with cement, close the wall of a room with wood and also to make a little roof for keeping the wood dry in winter. There are many other things to arrange. I have the material, but need specialized help. Also we can do some work in the land (like planting trees). Please, let me know if you are available!! Thank you!!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At home, I offer a cozy and very welcoming atmosphere, good food (organic salad), two meals a day (a good breakfast around 7:30 and dinner around 19:00 h., mostly vegetarian or vegan), a bedroom shared if there is more than one "workaway" (or other persons staying at home) and shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Maariz, my little village, belongs to Mondoñedo, a municipality located in the province of Lugo, region of Galicia. In fact it´s very near to Asturias. Even we are in the mountain, the Cantabric see and the jurasic coast is very close. The surrounding includes many places to visit, of great interest from an historical, arqueological and ecological point of view. If you like anthropology, you will have the opportunity to meet the inhabitants of the galician countryside, and eventually to take part in traditional local folk festivities. If you like history, we have plenty of celtic sites, also museums, and megalitic monuments among others. But if you prefer to just enjoy nature, I live in an area of outstanding natural beauty, with great biodiversity and animal life. Cliffs over spectacular beaches with caves, waterfalls, magic misty forests and mountains with secret paths are waiting to be discovered.

    In Mondoñedo we have basic stores, such as supermarket, pharmacy, hardware stores, bakery, stationary store, post office, etc. The village was very important in the middle ages, so we have a large cathedral, even though we´re just about 5.000 people. For other needs, Ribadeo is close (there you can find a Decatlon store, for instance).

    There is no public transport from home to the next large town (Mondoñedo), but it´s within a walking distance (about 2 kms.) and from there it´s possible to travel by bus to several destinations: Santiago de Compostela (150 Kms.), A Coruña (160 kms.), Lugo (75 Kms), or Ribadeo (38 kms.) From Ribadeo, it´s possible to combine transportation (train or bus) even to Gijón and Oviedo (in Asturias), and to other places such as Santander or Bilbao.
    I have my own (very old) car that I use to make short distances journeys, and that we will take to visit the surroundings or to get supplies. If needed I can also take the person/s who stay at home to the next bus/train station. Next airports are: Santiago de Compostela, A Coruña and Oviedo (Asturias).

    We are a quiet rural community, which offers a peaceful retreat. If you´re looking for night life, this is not a place for you. For those stars-lovers... We don´t have artificial light pollution!!!! Full moon is outstanding!!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In the house there is not public internet, you would need to bring your own data. I myself use my own data from the phone to conect the computer.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a nice flat place to park at home, campers are welcome!!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 528468287446

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)