Help us with our little thatched house and share our family life near Tapolca, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Szia! (Hello in Hungarian)

    We are a small family of three and our little daughter has just turned one year in September. She is a mixture of Eastern and Western European blood as I am German and my boyfriend Attila is Hungarian. We both like to travel and enjoy the exchange with people from other countries and cultures - such as our daily life somehow still includes a lot of cultural exchange! We have just moved to Hungary to start our family life here at the beautiful and magical surrounding of lake Balaton.

    Trying to make this world a better place, we are working on our "life´s footprints". We try to consume local products and support the small farmers around. We try to eat healthy and we are creative with using own our garden fruits. We don´t have a car and use our bikes or the great Hungarian public transportation system. All these ideas are slowly growing and put into practise and we are open forand interested in your ideas/recipes/experiences...

    We would like to create a place for us and for visitors/ tourists that want to enjoy the amazing landscape and outdoor activities of this area. When looking out of our windows we can see at least four volcanoes! We feel very connected to nature and it gives us a chance to recharge our spirits. We love to go out to the woods or up to the hillside here. Attila writes hiking tours on a professional base and his heart is full with curiosity and passion for forests and mountains which he is happy to share!

    We are creating a little holiday house to be the accomodation of visitors which is about 1km from the shore. That´s where we will need most help. It´s an old stone house with a thatched roof (reet) on the slopes of lake Balaton in the middle of the vinyards. We have a vinyard ourselves, however we´re not planning to keep the production going cause all our neighbors sell tasty wine! Now, in autumn, we are harvesting the grapes for our own use (fruits, juice...). It´s a 2000m² property with a stunning view on the lake and the volcanoes around! The house needs renovation and we need handy helpers here who are happy to do construction work with Attila. Additionally, it is havesting time! There are pears, apples, grapes, peaches…to be harvested (and eaten!), if you like to do that.

    Our family house is about 15km from the holiday house in a small town. Here, we are still renovating and re-organising since we have just moved here.

    Besides these plenty tasks, we try to have a little outside activity (hiking, cycling, swimming…) at least every weekend. We like to hike and discover the natural beauty around us and are happy to show you around if you like!

    We will need help from the middle of October.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Hungarian-German couple and we are happy to let you be part of our little cultural adventure. Our daughter grows up with German (mother) and Hungarian (father). However, we speak English with each other. We live in an authentic Hungarian little town and you can come with us to the market where we buy most of our veggies and fruits. The holiday house is in a small village where you can meet authentic Hungarian village life e.g. the harvest of the wine. We love to have bonfire in our garden with friends and often we prepare the typical Hungarian stew over the fire. Under the clear night sky, far away from noice this is a touching experience! It´s also the best place for deep and wide conversations and guitar singing!

  • Help

    Help

    We would welcome a handy person who likes to help with construction tasks. We need to renew the outside drainage system, put down walls for new doors, put new floor, painting, kitchen, terrace, ... whatever you feel comfortable with! We regularly organize weekends with our friends when everybody helps according to their abilities. The days end with kettle stew over the open fire :)

    Furthermore, there are a few gardening jobs like harvesting. Or processing the harvest to juice, jam, ... Or helping with maintaing the family house such as painting. We are also still giving a personal touch to our new home - so you can be creative if you like.
    Once the friuts are harvested, we try to make jams, juice, chutney´s etc. - so if you are interested in that: we are happy to share our knowledge and learn from you!

    Since our daughter is still very young, she takes a lot of attention and gives us a daily life schedule. If you are open to join the sometimes demanding daily life of a young family, we are happy to welcome you in our family life.
    We ask for an average of 4-5 hours help on 5 days per week.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We own a family house with a little garden next to it in a small town (about 12km from lake Balaton). You can have your own room here with a cosy big bed.
    The other house which will be a holiday house is a village in the vinyards and it´s a 1km distance to the lake shore. There are vinyards all around. It´s a functioning little house with one (sleeping) room and you can also stay there, if you prefer solitude and to be close to nature. However, if we are also staying overnight, we share the room. It´s also possible to camp somewhere on the property.
    We are usually staying in our family house overnight, which is about 15km from the holiday house. So most of the meals and the family life takes place here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of wonderful activities around this area and since we have also just moved here, we are happy to explore it. There is a stunning volcanic landscape all around us with offers great hiking! You can go cave exploring, swimming, sailing, fishing, cycling, rock climbing, paragliding, ... Sightseeing such as old castles and ruins are close to us as well as authentic Hungarian villages. There´s great food in Hungary (if you are not a vegetarian).
    On our weekends, we like to discover the surrounding and you are welcome to join us if you like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Depending on the size of your campervan, you can fit on our property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A dog is welcome if it's suitable with our daughter.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 527968987325