Come make art and build fun projects with us in Louisa, VA, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Howdy! I'm Jason, and me and my 9-year-old son Anthony are working hard to turn our dreams into reality. Our place is in Cuckoo, VA, which is in the middle of nowhere, but is also a hub for brilliant, creative and free spirited people, with two of the most successful communes up the road, and several smaller intentional communities nearby .I'm a woodworker, builder and an artist, and left a successful teaching career a few years back to pursue my passion for creating, build strength and tenacity to do hard physical work, and broaden my knowledge and skillset as a carpenter and a maker. It was kind of my own custom tailored professional grad school. For almost two decades I have taught subjects like art, design, printmaking, woodworking, technology and robotics to students as old as 4 and as young as 5. I love teaching and plan to continue this passion through hosting regular workshops and events. Eventually I will have a classroom on site for more formal training, and hope to branch out with other educators at our facility.

    UltimatelyI'm hoping to find a few like-minded folks to start a small local woodland village for artists, makers and performers. In the meantime I could use a hand building and making all the things that will bring this place to life. I also already have a huge, well stocked workshop and art studio here. I've already got equipment for woodworking, metalwork/blacksmithing, ceramics, glass work, and more. Come explore with me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully you'll leave with a greater appreciation for nature, a spark for creativity, and knowledge about living off the grid. I'm a former University professor and high school teacher, focused on art, design, woodworking and technology, and I'd be happy to help you dive deeper into those subjects. I'm also passionate about learning, and look forward to see what skills and knowledge that you have to share.

  • Help

    Help

    We are building a magical campground in the forest and a homestead in the field. We need to upgrade pens/houses for 11 chickens and 3 turkeys (more to come), I could use a second set of hands setting up solar electricity, connecting a new trail to an existing one, building a new outhouse, making a treehouse, setting up an outdoor kitchen, making a solar oven, constructing pedal powered tools, digging out a swimming hole, making tables from our own sustainably harvested lumber, building an outdoor shower with solar hot water, and most importantly, help filling the forest with art and music. It sounds like a lot, but hopefully it'll allow you to work on something that inspires you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is plenty of space to stretch out and find your peace among the trees. We offer camping for now, but eventually we will have a few tiny houses on site. I have teepees and tents for you to use, or you can bring your own setup. Fyi, for now we are using composting toilets until we can develop a hybrid septic system, but it's way more pleasant than it sounds. We share most meals, yet there is also plenty of time for you to do your own thing. Anthony and I are omnivorous, but mostly freegan. We are happy to accommodate most diet needs.

    Internet is cellular, however the county installed a free wifi spot walking distance from home. I work offsite a few days a week, so you can choose to either stay here or ride with me so you can take day trips to DC, Richmond or Charlottesville when I head to jobsites there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a new profile, but I've hosted many workawayers at my previous community (Cambia) before branching out on my own. I'd be glad to connect you with references.

    Louisa is about halfway between Richmond and Charlottesville. Washington DC, the ocean and the mountains are all close enough for day trips. You can go tubing on the James river nearby, and Lake Anna State Park is close as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Feel free to bring your home on wheels

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they are safe around kids and chickens

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 527636351368