Amateur boat building, sailing, fishing help wanted around a Turkish island, Alibey adası!

Country

Turkey

updated   Last minute

Favourited 1099 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    209

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    -----> Learn how to build small sailing boats! <----- (Sometimes I am not building boats, but making other house and garden repairs, lets discuss projects before you come)
    Join me to work with your hands and learn from or add to knowledge of carpentry,welding , boat engineering ,electrical work, gardening, cleaning , all it depend on season.

    Hi, my name is Hüseyın and I live on the busy little island, Cunda (Ayvalık-Alibey adası).
    I'm building small wooden boats, fiberglass boats, trimarans and I also refurbish old boats. I need a second set of hands on this job. We will work together on the planning and building of sail boats 4 to 15 meter. You will learn how to use power tools and experience the satisfaction of shaping and building the boats with your own hands!

    I have Hotel- Hostel my territory . I also need second sets of hands in my property . We are making cleaning , cleaning and cleaning ))))))

    Many of my family members and friends also live nearby and we often share meals and help each other with various projects. I'm an amateur saxophone player, motorcycle mechanic, boat builder and chef and I like to expand my skills and try something new. I have worked and traveled around the world. In the past year, I have taken some long motorcycle/camping trips in the Balkans, taught myself to play sax, and volunteered with refugees in Greece. I join motorbike festivals and make music on the streets. I also making long sail trips and teaching how to sail, how to live on the boat long days and the needs for sailing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because of my background, volunteers can learn & experience many things:
    >> Turkish culture & social life
    >> Turkish language
    >> typical turkish recipes/food
    >> usage of power tools like sanding machine, drill, electric saws
    >> construction
    >> measuring and sewing a sail
    >> sailing ( at the end of may to end of october )
    >> broaden your horizon and be creative :)

    There are many historical places and beautiful natural beaches around the places where I iıve.
    I can also share my life experience and lots of travel stories!

  • Help

    Help

    I build small wooden sailboats (This project takes 30 days. In 30 days you learn how to use powertools like drill, sanding machine, jigsaw. You learn how to work with fiberglass, paint plywood and also to measure and sew the sail. During this time, while waiting on the parts to dry, we are also working on several other projects around the house or in the community)

    You are welcome to join me in preparing and eating meals, you are also welcome to join me in my daily turkish life, trips to the bazaar, motorcycle festivals with my club, sailing around if the wheather is good.

    I'm interested in cleaning the beaches on the island. Hopefully we can spend some time cleaning the beaches near my home near where we sail with the boats.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have one single room, one double room (near the kitchen and it has glass door with a curtain) and there is a couch in living room for 2 person (if necessary)

    Shared shower & WC, shared kitchen and living room.
    Healthy Turkish meals will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful places around (one of the longest beach in Turkey: Sarımsaklı), also very close is the 3rd biggest city in Turkey (İZMİR). Swimming is possible until December and you are welcome to join me in my daily turkish life: trips to the bazaar, motorcycle events/festivals with my club, sailing around if the wheather is good, fishing.

    You will have free time everyday (it is convenient to walk and there are buses nearby). We can make arrangements for work time but it would be great if you are interested in joining the daily life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week but it depends on the weather. İf there is rain there is no work

4 people 4 km 1 hour 8 knots wind. Not bad ))
first day with my trimaran

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)































Host ref number: 526656686462