Connect deeply with nature and experience a living basic low impact sustainable lifestyle

Country

Portugal

Favourited 194 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    320

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Firstly apologies for the low response rate . I don’t live in Portugal full time and didn’t realise I could deactivate my account when I’m not there .

    I'm Jessika age 34 born in England. I'm the creative director of a vegan/vegetarian cafe and chillout area that I create at music festivals (mainly psy trance festivals) I’m now stepping back into my role as a healer and massage therapist with Hawaiian lomi shamanic bodywork

    Right now my mission is to live off grid, to live as low-impact sustainable lifestyle as possible.

    sustainability can mean different things to different people for me when I think about being sustainable I adopt an aspect of Permaculture that I learnt about called the directive of return . “The directive of return is to replenish to an equal or a greater amount of resources used “ for this reason I do not buy anything that comes in any kind of packaging whether it’s recyclable or not for me I want to eliminate the unsustainable processes that go into manufacturing the packaging in the first place this does mean there is a large variety of foods and products that I do not consume or purchase .

    every Saturday I go to the local market you will also happen have an opportunity to join I buy fresh produce that’s local and organic whatever I can’t get in the market I purchase from a supermarket. I use reusable cotton bags and I take plastic tubs for the fish and meat. I am happy to cater for vegans and vegetarians I have a vegan café and if I was vegetarian and vegan myself for many years. Sometimes there are ingredients and products leftover from the café which we use on the land like coffee , tea , nuts and sees but they are not replenished , I don’t buy more once finished. for me avoiding buying food and products that come in packaging is the easiest way to drastically reduce your carbon footprint.

    Please only bring natural products for the ones that will end up in the ground Like soap, shampoo, toothpaste , washing clothes detergent . I make larger batches of completely natural products using soap nuts , this can be used to wash hair as a body wash to wash dishes and clean clothes you are more than welcome to use thisI encourage you to use this or to at least try it whilst you’re here

    The work on the land is never ending, being self-sufficient is an ongoing journey there is no end goal it’s a continual evolution.

    I like the work on the land to be a combination of practical jobs that are essential as well as creative projects. the main jobs on the land are creating an efficient and comfortable living situation whilst being as resourceful as possible. There are many micro projects like making new tables , storage , wood shed , washing up area etc . clearing from shrubs, grass and brambles and just keeping everything cut back and stopping it from getting overgrown for these jobs Those that are up for heavier work there are a couple of strimmers l. There are hand tools for those who would prefer lighter work. One of the main creative projects is to create pebble pathways my inspiration comes from Jeffery bale. I fully welcome artists , there are many rocks to paints and make the place look beautiful. we also need to create raised beds and do repair work on the terraces that have fallen I have a little experience with dry stone building.

    Four hours of work a day is required for and a half days a week personally I like to do a couple of hours in the morning and breaks her out the afternoon when its hottest and do a couple of hours in the evening in the spare time there are lots of creative and artistic things to do like painting rocks creating dream catchers building stone sculptures

    In my free time I like to do yoga and exercise I also like to dance listen to music and play didgeridoo I also like to read . I have a variety of books on the land about different aspects of eco-building and Permaculture.

    The end goal for the project is to create an eco retreat and natural holistic spa.

    I'm highly creative I have many skills from massage therapist, artist, dancer, professional hoop dancer and fire performer. I love to design and make clothes and build and create all kinds of things from furniture and structures to art peices and decor . I'm at the early stages of creating a video blog on you tube to share my experience if going off grid.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get the chance to deeply connect with a truly magical piece of Mother Earth and to witness and be a part of the very first stages of living off grid.

  • Help

    Help

    clearing the land and keeping it maintained is always an ongoing task . There are brambles and shrubs to be strimmed. We have hand tools and power tools depending on your preference.

    Rebuilding stone walls
    Me and a few friends I met on a dry stone building course in Italy have rebuilt one part of many of the fallen stone terrace walls. There is a lot of stone work to be done, happy to pass on the little knowledge I have so far of dry stone walling.

    Making pebble stone pathways

    I would like to create mandala and key hole vegetable beds. Raised beds , growing veg .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a spare bell tent and normal tents with plenty of bedding , foam mattress , camping beds . It’s important to be comfortable especially in these basic living conditions

    I have 2 x 4m geo domes which can be erected to create more places to sleep and provide shelter.

    At the moment there is a small outdoor kitchen which consists of a 5x5m canvas cover and a gas burner stove ( it’s basic )

    The shit pit will be made into a compost toilet and an outdoor shower/bathroom area created soon.

    I just bought a tipi which will be my living space .

    There is a beautiful river and dip pools and spring for fresh drinking water.

    Solar shower bag and outdoor off grid shower set up

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can go for hikes up to Landeria. The river on the land has waterfalls and dip pool to chill out and relax and unwind from the stresses and conditioning of western modern society. Poco Azul a popular tourist spot of beautiful dip pools is just 3km away. Once a month I go to a spa in Porto welcome to join. Once a week on Saturday I go to the local market in Sao Pedro do sul. I also do my laundry here.

    The are no modern facilities on the land. Its back to basics and back to nature living. Heating pots of water for an Indian style body wash, bathing in the river when hot enough using solar shower .

    I've become a pro at one pot cooking. Food is very important and I ensure that everyone eats well and healthy. I provide 3 yummy healthy meals per. We eat meat and fish but can accommodate For veganS Its nice to have help to prepare the food with me. I'm very health conscious I eat in a healthy and sustainable way . We have a zero waste policy ! No food bought in plastic or packaging . Mainly gluten free , just buy one loaf of local bread a week which we eat at a picnic at the local swim spot , we also buy a local Cheese For this occasion too .

    Friends from around the world come and visit at times and some may stay for long periods. So there is normally company from lovely open minded, conscious and creative people. Dave who is staying here is a sound healer and massage therapist too .

    We have a Saturday night jam session party and bbq . I buy a bottle of wine we play and listen to music, dance and enjoy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is no direct access onto the land you have to park at the top of the 600m track and walk down

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 526518269765