Help with household care and pop-up dinners in beautiful Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI there, my husband and I live in a large house in Queen Charlotte, Haida Gwaii, a beautiful and remote archipelago off the North West Coast of British Columbia. He works half-time as a doctor for the local community, and I work half-time as a writer for city-based architecture magazines and book publishers. When I’m not writing, I’m cooking and cleaning and gardening and fixing up our house; or organizing and cooking for semi-regular "pop-up" community fundraising dinners. Our 24-year-old and 22-year-old daughters live in a self-contained apartment within our house. We are still in pandemic lockdown throughout Haida Gwaii, but I'm joining Workaway now to acquaint myself with people interested in coming here later, when the islands re-open to visitors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Haida Gwaii is the home of the Haida people, one of Canada’s Indigenous nations with a very strong, vibrant and interesting culture. You will get to meet and learn about this community, as well as the non-Haida community. The entire island community tends to be very creative and ecologically minded. If you are an artist, writer or musician, you will find like-minded people here, The hiking and paddling and beach-combing is exceptional here and you'll learn much about this region's unique botany and geological history. You will become acquainted with one of the most beautiful expanses of nature anywhere. If you're lucky, you might even see some whales!

  • Help

    Help

    I’d love 10 to 25 hours a week of help (depending on what kind of workaway format you want) with cleaning, cooking, gardening/weeding and taking care of our house, and possibly helping me re-paint, construct a glass-bottle "stackwall" fence and/or other updates. Also, I have been hosting regular “pop-up” dinners for the community, to raise money for local charities—I convert part of our house into a temporary “restaurant” for local people and visitors to enjoy while giving money to a worthy cause. I would love help in organizing and serving food for these dinners. Before the lockdown, I was involved in working to help two Syrian families in the community with their resettlement in our community, and i hope to do that again after lockdown ends, which you might. be able to help me out with. Depending on the Covid situation and other factors, these dinners might happen once or twice a week, or once a month....once we are allowed to gather again!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love learning all languages. Je parle français mais j'ai toujours besoin de pratiquer et améliorer... Parlo italiano (ma non molto bene)...language practice and instruction can certainly be part of the deal!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can off you a private room in our house, with a single bed, small desk, dresser, and with a bathroom for your use only. We have a media room with a large-screen television that we use mostly to watch movies. The media room also includes a djambe and a full-height acoustic piano, which you will have access to, if you play either instrument.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    IMPORTANT: Please note that Haida Gwaii remains temporarily closed to visitors (even regional visitor from other parts of the province) at this time (April 2021) because of the pandemic. You can find updates at gohaidagwaii.ca and haidanation.ca and other websites. We hope to be open later this summer, but it's difficult to predict. If and when you come to Haida Gwaii, be sure to visit the magnificent Haida Heritage Centre, which showcases hand-carved Haida dugout canoes, argillite carvings, button blankets, spruce root weavings and other treasures of past and current Haida culture. You can also explore several long unspoiled beaches and walk along forested trails. This is a rainforest climate, so even in summer you might not get many hot days, but when you do get a hot day then you can swim in the Pacific ocean. You can also rent a kayak and paddle out to the nearby islands. Local public transportation is limited, but our house is right near the centre of Queen Charlotte Village so you can walk anywhere in town from here. You can also borrow my bicycle. To get to the Haida Heritage Centre or Tlell or Masset, you can find out when one of us is going and come along for the ride, or usually you can get a ride with by asking on the local Facebook page. We haven’t had a workaway visitor yet, but when our two daughters were little, from 2002-2007, we had a series of “au-pair” live-in babysitters, who were basically workaway helpers but before “workaway” existed. Every one of these young women seemed to enjoy their Haida Gwaii experience, and we appreciated their help with childcare and their good company.

    More about us: I work at home by myself all day, so I enjoy conversation during my work breaks and evenings. My husband is in the opposite situation: he talks and listens to people all day at his work, so when he comes home, he is usually not very talkative and often just needs to take time to be by himself. Our two adult daughters are quite creative and musical and would welcome another musician to jam with. But our house is usually fairly quiet by 10pm.

    This is a non-smoking house and garden, though it’s not our business if you smoke on your free time when you’re not at our home. We love animals but cannot accommodate pets because of my husband’s allergies, unfortunately. Je suis bilingue, plus ou moins, mais je voudrais pratiquer mon français, avant que je l’oublie. Parlo italiano; Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch; Jeg tale dansk en smula; I'm hoping to learn some Arabic in the future. I love all languages and would love to learn yours, if you’re not a native English speaker and wish to teach me!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would like a workawayer to work up to 25 hours per week in exchange for accommodation and three meals a day, OR 10 hours a week if we provide your accommodation & basic amenities and you provide & prepare your own food, OR something in between, which might be the best way for you? I'm open to discussing all kinds of options.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day (often less), 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 526394694919