Join our sailing family in our 51 foot monohull sailboat traveling around the Caribbean and North America (East Coast), USA



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are a family of five living on board our 51 foot monohull sailboat. We are currently getting ready to leave the Bahamas, and plan to travel extensively through the Carribean down to Grenada. We have three young boys, and are both prior Navy/Merchant Mariners. Our main goal is exposing our children and ourselves to the full benefits of travel experiences, new cultures, and learning opportunities while setting our own (slower!) pace. We operate a small business remotely from our sailboat, but have made our main goal more the enjoyment of life than the constant work culture we were brought up in. We are looking for someone to enjoy the adventures of the open seas with us, assist with day to day life with the boys, and be a part of the family and family responsibilities!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The individual joining us would learn everything there is to know about sailing a larger monohull sailboat. They will also learn mechanical engineering skills including electrical, plumbing, air conditioning, and diesel engines.

  • Help


    We live and travel on our sailboat, so looking for someone who can help with the operation of the boat, assist with DIY maintenance that we perform on the boat, and/or assist with our three children on board the boat and on excursions off of the boat. Operation includes putting sails up and down, adjusting sails, standing watch on overnight voyages, anchoring, mooring, docking, carrying supplies and food to load on board. DIY maintenance could include repairing pumps, the engine, generator, other mechanical items, and general cleaning. Our three children are 2, 3, and 6, and we are currently homeschooling the 6 year old. We are very interested in someone who can also help in general with the children, and is bilingual and can help the kids learn a second language also, preferably Spanish. We do not need someone with prior experience in these fields, but we do need someone who is physically fit and willing to help with these tasks, and currently fluent in English.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    The individual joining us will have their own berth (bedroom), which mostly consists of a single bed and a personal storage locker. We do have smaller rooms on board than a standard house, so this is more like tiny living, but it is a completely private room. We do have spare items stored in the second bed area in this room also, and there are mechanical spaces which we may need access to from time to time, but again the individual will have their own space here. They will also have a shared bathroom including a shower, toilet, and sink. The individual would be able to use the full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, refrigerator, and freezer), living room area, and any of our other amenities on board. We do have a computer on board, and have a limited internet connection, as well as unlimited (but slower) text and email capabilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We plan to continuously travel, so anywhere we are we would love to explore together! We love outdoor adventures, educational experiences, and getting off the beaten path. We definitely would be interested in someone who can share these things with us. We don't expect the individual to be with us constantly, though, and they can leave the boat when able if there are additional things they would like to do as well, or just have their own private time onboard. We won't have our own vehicle in most areas, so we do plan on walking a good deal and also using public transportation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 524371514856



Historic vessel restoration in Thomaston, ME USA
Assist a retired couple around our property with trails and fields in Salem, Missouri USA