Looking for volunteers to come and join us and help with our sustainable lifestyle project in Yukon Territory, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    522

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you're traveling this month (June) we have space!

    We've lived on our property for a little over 5 years, and we're learning every day! From the raw earth, we've found a small sustainable lifestyle. To date, we've created an organic garden, raised lovely laying hens, chicks, ducks, and bees. We're always interested in, and learning about permaculture techniques, organic principles, closed loop systems and self-sufficiency while working full-time job

    Visit in the spring (April 25th-June 1st) to enjoy our new baby chicks, honeybees, ducklings and new garden dirt! Come see all the Yukon has to offer as it (and it's people:) wake from winter slumber

    Visit us in the summer (June 1st-August 1st) to enjoy flourishing gardens, fishing, and hopefully our honey harvest! Be part of a midnight sun that doesn't quit, live a life of midnight canoeing, hiking, biking etc

    Visit in the fall (August 1st-Sept 30th) to experience changing colors, harvesting, preserving, berry picking - a plethora of homesteading/ and traditional knowledge of the land to immerse yourself in!

    Talk soon, till then happy trails!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although we work 5-6 days a week in town - away from the farm - we are proud Yukoners. We have many connections to just about any type of travel/adventure you could dream of. We'd love to support you on your journey!

  • Help

    Help

    Some projects we'really hoping to complete this year include minor land clearing (chainsaw work), gardening and preserving, a camper restoration and possibly website creation.

    Day to day we will always appreciate a hand with dinner, animal and garden care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As we're still building this life what we have available for accommodations is a camper, use of our utilities (inclusive of limited wifi), and use of bikes, canoes, lifejackets etc. Our property is an hour out of town - but we have early morning rides to town 6 days of the week. While we're away at work please feel free to use our home for showers, cooking etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 522511732698