Come help painting our house near the park, enjoy good food, music and the outdoors in Brighton, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We want some help painting our house in 2019, its a big house with lots of maintenance needed, woodwork that needs rubbing down and repainting etc. We also have some garden projects to complete, and an allotment where we grow organic veg.
    We are looking for an independent couple, or friends to help out for 1-2 weeks at a time (no long term applicants please) We are happy to be flexible with the work days, so if a few long days and more full free days suits you, then give us a call.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a couple with a dog (we work freelance from our home) and we have 2 university student daughters back in the Summer. We also have a lodger living in the house. Pete is from USA, came here to play basketball and has lived here ever since. Charlotte is an artist. We are both involved in creative industries, working as an photographer/ designer, and videographer/musician. We like good food and music and the outdoors. Pete plays several instruments and plays in a band, he also loves a game of golf.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd like friendly and independent people who are practical with some DIY or decorating/gardening skills , who'd like to learn more and work with us on painting the house and general maintenance. You will need to be able to work independently if we have other projects on, but we will be clear what we need, and have the necessary tools and equipment. Bring your work clothes!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    limited Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room, shared bathroom bath/shower/toilet, use of laundry facilities, garden, we like homecooked food and can cater for vege/meat eaters, let us know if you have food intolerances/allergies.
    The large house overlooks a lovely green park with tennis courts, we have bikes available to borrow, and are 15 mins walk from the beach, the town and the Sussex Downs, and an hours trainride to London

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Brighton is a vibrant and inclusive seaside town, billed as the UK's San Francisco for its gay culture, it also has 2 universities, lots of cafes clubs bars and music venues. A lot of creatives live here and it has a relaxed and friendly vibe.
    Our large house overlooks a lovely green park with tennis courts, we have bikes available to borrow, and it’s a 15 mins walk to the beach, the town and the countryside, and an hours trainride to London. The beach is pebbly but popular nevertheless and there is a volleyball, sea-swimming and kayaking community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week & can be flexible with days





Host ref number: 521656585333