Experience the unique small-village life and help with our renovation project in Skálavík, Faroe Islands


Faroe Islands

Favourited 178 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a small family of three + a dog called Leika. Martin Karl 50, Birita 43 and Jákup 16. In our daily life we live and work in Tórshavn. Martin Karl as vice principal and Birita as schoolteacher. In the summerperiode we move to the small village of Sandoy - Skálavík. In Skálavík we have bought an old building, which we are renovating. The building has been in Birita's family for four generations and has a rich history. The summer of 2018 we opened a café in a part of the building, which will be open this summer too. The rest of the building needs at total renovation - inside and out. We do it as a family project, but could very much need some extra pare of hands with a lot of things.
    At the moment we are building a new building next to the old one, which is for 10 hotelrooms - a small Guest House 😊
    What we need help with at the moment, is to paint the new building outside. Best in May and beginning of June

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In Skálavík you will experience the uniq small-village life. In Skálavík live 120 people.
    At the same time you will have the opportunity to travel around all the islands in your sparetime. We will help you with all the practical stuff :) To make sure you get the best out of it.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are in the middle of a renovation project. At the same time we run a café.
    We need help with all kind of renovationwork, such as painting, building, gardening etc - depending on what you are good at.
    Birita is mostly running the café, while Martin Karl is taking care of the renovation.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Faroese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will be living as a member of our family, and will have your own bedroom in our house. We work all day long, so a part of the time you will have the house for your self :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time you can travel in Sandoy or the other islands to see as much as you like. If you like to work longer one day, so you can get more days off to travel, that is fine with us :)

    The Faroes are known for their beautiful mountainous nature, small communities and most friendly inhabitants. The climate presents a most unique experience for travellers. You can experience all seasons in one day. You can experience streams running upwards because of strong winds, Another thing special is the spectacular view of the ocean. Most inhabitants have an oceanview.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 519327827169