Help Grow our own food and enjoy the wilderness of the sierra mountains. California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 290 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Scott and I am 31 years old. My background is construction, carpentry, and landscaping. I am taking some time off from work to create a sustainable and eco friendly house to live in. It is not there yet but I am well on my way.
    My objectives are to reduce the amount of garbage used, grow our meals, compost organic matter, collect water, and use solar energy. And most importantly to reduce each persons carbon footprint.
    Right now I am inviting anyone who has special skills or knowledge to help me grow food and reduce the amount of trash in the landfill. Right now I am preparing a garden in spring so that the meals we eat here are fresh. I am building raised garden beds and protecting plants from the animals. I am also planting seeds outdoors and sprouting the seeds indoors. I have lots of knowledge about indoor grows and hydroponics in case you are interested. Or maybe you can teach me something about growing plants:)
    My second (side) project would be to begin to organize a bed and breakfast. I have spare bedrooms and they are usually used for friends and other guests. And with this project I have zero experience and it would be nice if someone knows more about setting it up.
    If you are interested in short term stay I like to learn languages. So speaking to me in your native language and cooking authentic meals would be a great way for me to get more culture.
    Finally you can play with my dog and take walks with her. She is very sweet and never bites. She loves attention so when my days are busy it is nice to have her playing with someone also.
    Work days will vary depending on the weather or person visiting. I am not really asking for a certain number of hours just help with what I am doing or take on a project of your own.
    This is just a general idea of what is happening. I am constantly working on little projects around the property and we can discuss more about what I am currently doing over messages.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live on the golden highway. If you like cowboys and the wild west there is a lot of history here. This area is also home to the 1849 gold rush. And down the street in town is the oldest saloon in California.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I am preparing for a garden in spring, building raised garden beds and building fences to protect the plants. I am also planting seeds and sprouting the seeds indoors.
    Outdoor work consists of trimming trees and making compost.
    I also use many power tools for wood building projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a spare bedroom, TV, internet, kitchen. It is a modern house with comfortable accommodations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a great place to have a relaxing time when you are not busy. There are hikes, waterfalls, and Yosemite. I have a car and we can easily see much of what California offers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 517636157577