1 / 4

Help with some projects as part of a sustainable lifestyle homestay in NW Melbourne, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 56 times
  • Last activity: 5 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    There's four people in our home, mum, dad and two kids aged 14 and 12. We have two cats and four chickens and have a mini mini farm in inner suburb of Essendon in Melbourne. Our home is 100 metres from train station, so super handy to get into CDB and lose to shops and cafes too. The room has a double bed with own ensuite with lovely back garden views and an exterior door so you can come and go as you please. You will also have access to a bike, laundry and wifi.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a sustainable lifestyle, so are working towards a minimal waste & conscious consumption lifestyle, vegetable heavy diet. We're heavily involved in local community groups, such as Moonee Valley Sustainability, boomerang bags, little free pantry and repair cafe. So if you want to learn about this type of lifestyle, this appointment is for you! We're failry well travelled ourlselves and like to hear stories of others traveller experiences.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Ideal for solo travellers or a couple who want to learn about sustainable living. Tyical tasks around the property involve gardening, composting, cleaning, animal care (dog, cats chickens) and some basic DIY. Several gardening projects in the pipeline, mainly to do with indigenous gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Double bed in seperate room with own ensuite.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very close to station so easy access to CBD.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 515331791948

Feedback (1)



We are a couple in our sixties that live on a lifestyle property in Beverley, Australia
Gardening and other outside help needed in the Noosa area, Australia