Meet exceptionally diverse and interesting people on this pilgrimage route and help in our b&b in Saint Germain Beaupre, France

Country

France

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple, Nik and Amanda, living and working in Central/South-West France. We run a Chambres d'Hotes (B&B) in a small village called Saint Germain Beaupre in the region of the Limousin. Our business grows every year and we are particulary stretched during the months of July and August.
    The work can be challenging and somewhat routine but it is never dull or boring. We welcome guests from all over the world plus pilgrims on their journey to Santiago de Compstelle. So our helper would meet a lot of very interesting people with very interesting stories to tell. They would even be able to practise their language skills if they are budding linguists. Our helper will need to be able to interact well both with children and adults, customer service skills being paramount. We are specifically looking for someone who can help us at our crunch time during breakfast service and afterwards servicing the bedrooms ie stripping beds, ironing fresh bedding, making beds and cleaning en-suite bathrooms.
    There may also be occasions when our helper is asked to do the shopping. Whilst not compulsory, being able and willing to help with dinner service would also be an asset.
    After that, the day would be free to enjoy this absolutely spectacular area, full of charm, culture, and history and especially interesting for nature lovers, cyclists, horse-riders plus many sporting activities, including fishing. The area also offers many markets, vide-greniers (car boot sales) and local activities.
    We will provide a car for our helper as getting around is otherwise nigh on impossible. The nearest town is La Souterraine with all the day-to-day facilities to hand and then further afield, the delightful Limoges, famous for its porcelain.
    We work hard to maintain a first class service and are continually looking for new ideas to improve our current ranking. So any "new" suggestions would be very welcome. We continue to strive to make improvements where possible and embrace change when we can.
    We do not expect any "workawayers" to do anything that we are not prepared to do ourselves. We offer in return fullboard and lodgings, two days at leisure and a small renumeration.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We consider ourselves fortunate in what we do. We would not expect anyone to do anything that we do not do ourselves. We are characteristically an easy-going, friendly couple. But when it comes to the business we do expect to provide a first class experience for our guests and we take negative feedback very seriously. So we now look forward to the 2019 season. We hope to provide a pleasurable experience and one in which our helper may pick up some new skills based around customer service and the tourist industry.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    In more detail we would specifically like help with breakfast service, laundry, ironing, bed-making and cleaning rooms and bathrooms. After that any additional help might include shopping, walking the dog and dinner service. All the duties associated with a very busy Bed and Breakfast. Ideally we prefer someone who is flexible and prepared to muck in. After that any "workawayer" would be free to enjoy the many facilities that this delightful area has to offer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private bedroom (away from the guest accommodation) with two double beds, bedside tables, dressing table, wardrobe and chest of drawers. This is a very large room. We occupy an adjoining bedroom. The private shower room with washbasin and toilet is on the floor below. We also offer breakfast, a light lunch and an evening meal. A small renumeration is offered. Use of a car.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will expect our "workawayer" to respect our home and business. The work will be challenging at times but there is so much to be gained here. We will lead at first but welcome innovation and/or change for the better. So suggestions welcome. We do have English TV. Our south facing garden is free to enjoy during down-time. This region is known as the lake district of France. It really is beautiful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 514715822646