Volunteer at a Lavender Farm on southern Vancouver Island BC Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 1119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    61  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    408

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thank you for visiting our page and reading our listing...

    We are accepting inquiries for the current season. Please check our calendar for availability.

    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️

    We are a lavender farm located on beautiful southern Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada. We are close to ocean beaches, parks, lake beaches, mountains, and hiking trails and on the public transit route. We have bicycles for the volunteers and plenty of farm fresh food. Our volunteer loft sleeps up to 6 people, and is generally full during our harvest times in July and August which makes for a very enjoyable and social environment for our volunteers. there is a living room area, a large dining table, a full kitchen and separate bathroom. The loft is stocked with books, and board games for late night gathering or days off (Catan anyone?) Very high Speed wifi access available.

    We are very excited to share our culture, and our corner of the world with many interesting guests from around the globe.

    We provide food and accommodation in exchange for 25 hours per week of volunteering. We make sure volunteers have at least 3 days off in a row so they can explore many areas each weekend. We get together for farm dinners once a week, and volunteers prepare the rest of their meals together with the food provided in the self-contained loft. Food provided includes standard groceries and seasonal fresh produce grown on site (squash, pumpkin, garlic, potatoes, asparagus, raspberries, peaches, figs, rhubarb, etc) A great opportunity to practice your cooking skills and try new dishes and food from other countries.

    We prefer guests to arrive at the beginning of the month, and to stay for 4 weeks.



    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️

    Happy travels and thank you for considering us.

    Kennedy & Christine (Dad & Mom), Hartley & Siena (kids), Chico, Ruby, Hatch, Pinot, and Grigio (Pets)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will experience a unique Canadian culture, Vancouver Island is a temperate rain-forest and zone 9 growing zone, very different from the rest of the frozen country. Travellers will be part of a young Canadian family, and will also cross paths with many tourists and volunteers from other different cultures who visit this beautiful corner of Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    At our farm, we have many little tasks that are nice to have a helping hand with. Help with gardening, maintenance, help picking berries and harvesting rhubarb, help around the house such as cooking or childcare. Please bring appropriate footwear (boots, hiking shoes), outdoor wear and a rain coat.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Loft equipped with full kitchen, eating area, bathroom, independent living, must be able to do basic cooking, cleaning and housekeeping as well as taking care of oneself and work cooperatively in a team environment to keep a tidy living space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short bus ride away from Victoria, the capital of BC. In addition, volunteers can get away to visit Tofino on the west coast of Vancouver Island, Port renfrew and Saltspring island. Many volunteers visit the big city of Vancouver on their weekends off!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs per week

Around the fire pit. Great place to play your instruments! :-)
At the beach
Bringing in the harvest

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













































Host ref number: 5143833334b9