Come and join our happy household and help in our Highlands garden.


United Kingdom

Favourited 93 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    Hi, we are Amanda, Steve, Katy (12), Lucy (8) and Missy the cat(18) and we are looking for help in our garden in the Highlands of Scotland. We have a 3 acre garden situated in beautiful countryside in the small hamlet of Ardross, 3 miles from the nearest town (Alness) and 25 miles from the nearest city of Inverness.

    We are very friendly, relaxed and easy going and you will be warmly welcomed into our happy, creative home. We like to sing, create, read and enjoy nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in glorious countryside with lovely views all around and wonderful walks.There are beautiful sandy beaches just 30 mins away and there are many interesting sights in the Highlands such as Culloden and the Clava Cairns near Inverness (30 mins away) or Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle (40 mins). If you like to craft then we have many creative materials that you are welcome to use. Similarly if you like to play the guitar or keyboard then we have a number of instruments you can borrow.

  • Help


    Most of the help we need is in the garden. We garden mostly organically so there is a fair amount of hand weeding along with the usual jobs of splitting and dividing perennials, pruning, staking, hedge-cutting etc. We are also in the process of planting an orchard. No experience is needed as help and guidance is always on hand and most of the time I will be working alongside you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a studio above the garage with a sofa-bed, wood-burning stove and en-suite shower room. It also has its own balcony with wonderful views and its own T.V. There are also 2 spare bedrooms in the house with double beds.

    Meals are with the family. Breakfast is a help yourself affair with large selection of cereals, toast, eggs etc and I often make porridge. Lunch again is a free for all with a variety of breads, meats, cheeses, salad, soup etc. Then I will usually cook a main meal in the evening and ask guests to clean up afterwards while I put the children to bed. It is always welcomed if a guest would like to cook a meal or two (or take over completely) but this isn't necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There isn't much transport to us specifically but we are happy to give lifts to Alness (3 miles away) where there are buses and trains on a regular basis. We have 2 bikes which we are happy for guests to use. I have also given lifts to local beauty spots and sights of interest nearby and people have then made their own way back or arranged a pick-up point and time. I am more than happy for guests to condense their working hours into fewer days if they wish so that they can have more free days. We also have camping equipment which we are happy to lend if you want to explore further afield. My mother, who lives in Forres (near Findhorn) has offered to let guests stay in her house for a few days if they would like to explore that area.

    Previous volunteers have said that they enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere here and becoming part of the family during their stay. The only downside really is that we are very quiet in the evenings and tend to go to bed early. There are loads of books, dvds and music etc and we try to get more than one volunteer at a time but don't always manage it so you need to be okay entertaining yourself in the evenings. Our neighbours are also registered with workaway so if they have guests at the same time we will try to get everyone together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 513883397858