Join our German-Chilean family and experience Mapuche culture - Conaripe, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    589

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a german-chilean family. Leo with a strong connection to the mapuches has 42 years, Mika has 30 years and is german and our son has nearly 2 years. We are living in Conaripe, near to the volcano Villarrica. Our space is really big and we have two houses on it (5000m2).
    In front of us ar living mapuches and the space is a really nice one.
    We want you to be part of our project to construct a Domo were we want to put a Cafe inside and space for cultural evenings.
    As well we need a lot of help from gardeners to make something beautiful, or better saying, more beautiful than now, of our 5000m2.
    We speak spanisch, german and english.
    Leo is musician and travels a lot, Mika is doing a lot of kuchen and renting our big house to make some money to live.
    We love to share with people and we are sure that you will have a really nice time there with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn a lot about Chile and about Mapuches. They just can talk with them because we live in front of them. As well they can visit a lot of really nice tourist-points and as we have a car, some places we can easily go together. As well you can practice spanisch because we both speak spanish as a nativ speaker.
    We are placed at a really quiet place, near to the village (10 minutes to walk) and has a lot of cultural movements. The view from our house is just amazing.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with a Domo construction we will begin in October and always we need help with the gardening and with finishing our small house.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with us, or in the big or in the small house. But you will have for sure your own room, and you will share with us the other places.
    Food is included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Conaripe is a really tourist-interesting place.
    The volcano Villarrica and the park is really near (15km)
    A lot of termal-water-parks, a lot of native woods, a lot of places like Huilo Huilo you can visit easily from our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is us!
This is our wonderful house!
another view of our first floor!
At the first floor we have a lot of space to share and relax!
place to be when we do some night-fire!
This is one of our sleeping option!
This is the view to the volcano Villarrica!
This is the other visitors / your bedroom!
This is the entrance of our place!
Host ref number: 512121119812