Looking for teachers to join us on our beautiful beach front land on the island of Qamea in the North East region of Fiji

Country

Fiji

Favourited 626 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, we sold up in Australia and moved to Fiji in search of a more natural existence. We've got 76 acres with 700m of beautiful beach front land on the island of Qamea in the North East region of Fiji. Nearest airport is Taveuni (from the airport it takes 20 mins taxi and 20 mins by boat to get to us). We are boat access only as there are no roads, vehicles or shops on Qamea. We run a small boutique resort with just 3 rooms so there's always good crew around and activities happening.

    We are looking for a school teacher(s) for our 8 year old daughter She is easily distracted therefore it is important that you possess great communication skills and can hold her attention. We also have a 5 year old who i usually teach myself but not when we have couple volunteers. We have an Australian syllabus we work from (they provide us with lesson notes, activity sheets etc).

    It would be Monday-Friday for 4-5 hours per day. Saturday mornings would be appreciated with activities such as sports, craft or catching up but the rest of the time and weekend is YOURS. We have regular boats going to Taveuni and local villages. Our staff love taking volunteers back to their village with them if you are looking for an authentic fijian experience.

    Living arrangements are in your own thatched loft bedroom with bed and lounge room. shared bathroom facilities are nearby. Due to our limited amount of staff accommodation this would not be suitable for applicants with children. The right candidate(s) would be understanding that in the tropics we occasionally get persistent rain & hot humid days (and everything beautiful in between). Most meals are provided at the resort restaurant however Cooking facilities are also available in the staff quarters.

    Ideally we're hoping for a single person, couple or two friends with at least one teacher in any of those situations.. We're pretty flexible and a good level of common sense is probably the main prerequisite. Our 8 year old needs extra attention therefore a qualified teacher is important for her. All applications welcome but no lazy bums and please bear in mind that we will only be looking at applicants who can stay a minimum of 6+ weeks.

    If you're looking for a great experience in Fiji with some good people then drop us an email... cheers

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn what living on a remote tropical island is like.... There's no vehicles or roads here... boat access only Our staff are from local villages and love to show volunteers around or have them stay overnight

  • Help

    Help

    Teaching would be undertaken in a learning environment where access to the internet is (sometimes) available. Taking the girls swimming, surfing and general sports activities

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Living arrangements are in your own thatched loft bedroom with bed and lounge room. shared bathroom facilities are nearby. Food is provided and fresh drinking water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For those interested in coming to assist us, there's an amazing list of bonus experiences to be had here. At you door step there is a world class surf break, white sandy beach, pristine rainforest, swimming, diving, fishing, snorkelling, rare & endangered species of birds still thriving in this habitat, incredible walks, local Fijian villages, waterfalls, rivers, lookouts & copious amounts of serenity. Lazing on our beautiful beach is also highly recommended on your time off!

    There is a supermarket 40 mins away by boat and taxi near the airport at Taveuni. Once you're at Taveuni there is, apart from another stunning island to explore, bars restaurants and all the glitter & pomp of the civilized world.

    We are a very hard-working but easy-going couple with two awesome kids. We love taking our boards out (when we can!), listening to good music and on occasion having a lazy beer or two. We are both well-travelled having backpacked in our youth and know what it's like to be searching for that special experience. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 511538995524