Come and help us take care of the dogs in South Cadbury, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Living near to Glastonbury, in the stunning area of South Cadbury. We have four dogs, three cats, a horse and live less than a five minute walk from Cadbury Castle of King Arthur fame.
    There's never a dull moment in our household, you really have to be a dog lover if you would like to stay!

    We previously lived in France and have been using sites like Workaway for over 15 years. We are English but speak French too, so if it's of interest to you to learn a new language then we are most happy to change our language. I cook a LOT for work, with influences from the Middle East and mainland Europe so if you are keen to enhance your knowledge in the kitchen, or learn how to make wines and cider I'm most happy to share this with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You're most welcome to hang out with me in the kitchen to learn an array of cuisine, learn to practise your English if you are from overseas, or French if you are looking to improve this.
    Being in the shadows of Cadbury Castle, there's a great deal of history that we (as new comers to the village) are keen to understand and share, we have an ongoing project with English Heritage to improve the villages mini-museum, so if you enjoy research (specifically of old hill forts) we could do with a hand in down time to further research and compile information to go on the museums boards.
    Further we are collectors of Antique Glass and kitchenalia and can teach you how to identify and age glasses many of which date back to the 1800's.
    Alternatively, if you're just looking to be based in an amazing location and explore Somerset, wander through endless fields and hills with our dogs stepping off the tread mill and back in time then this is the place to stop, breathe and enjoy a relatively unspoilt area of the UK.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The most important role currently is care of our dogs, walking them, playing and helping to settle them into our new house when we are working.
    We have just moved in and have a number of projects on the go, gardening, painting, decorating, cleaning, dog and cat care, dog walking, horse care etc. There is plenty to keep us all busy, but also plenty of time and space for you to escape and relax and explore the area.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom available with all the usual things. Shared family bathroom, use of the kitchen.
    We include three meals a day

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on a bus route so public transport is available.
    In your time off we are not far from Cheddar, Wells, the amazing beaches of Dorset, Sherbourne, the Yeovil Air museum, the car museum and endless countryside walks. Glastonbury is a 30 minute drive or 1 hour 30 by bike using the Strawberry Line.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have office space and good Wifi if you want to combine your stay with your own online business or work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 511326852653