Sewing skills needed here in Shediac New Brunswick, Canada!:)

Country

Canada

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1391

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Good day!
    My name is Marc. I have purchased a house near Parlee Beach, New Brunswick. In the summer time, I teach Yoga classes on the beach. The property has been turned into a food growing plot of land with raised garden beds, hugelbeds, fruit trees, etc. The basement of the house is mostly renovated to become another space to spend time or to sleep. At this time, I have a project which I am writing a book, and I want to create uniforms for the characters in the book. The uniforms will become my daily clothes I wear. If someone who knows how to sew and is pleasant in personality, please do apply here :)


    I am your host, Marc. A yoga teacher, and Civil Engineering Technologist, who speaks, Brazilian Portuguese, Español, Français, and English.

    I have been hosting for over 2 years now. Many have come and gone. I have learned that I need to plan for each person who comes here and make the communication very clear of what is expected (especially for people who are not experienced in a workaway exchange). I try to get to know applicants as well as possible before they come here, so that we can get a feel for each other and to make sure that we both understand what the other person is expecting in the exchange.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can benefit by:

    - Learning and practicing Yoga and Meditation.
    - Learning Français, or English.
    - Learning Organic Gardening, and Permaculture practices.
    - Access to walking trails and a beautiful beach.
    - Learning construction skills.
    - Expressing their artistic side.
    - Enjoy good company and have fun.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi!

    Thank you for your interest in this Workaway opportunity!

    I have been focussing on a project of research and development of a yoga book and yoga teacher training program. At the moment, someone who can sew well, or help with graphics work such as used for a manual would be great!

    Now that you have an idea of what is going on here, and you may be interested to come here. Let's see how you may fit in here.

    The best experiences I have had with volunteers is with people who are RESPONSIBLE, WHO ARE SINCERELY ENGAGED in what we do here, WILLING TO HELP OPENLY BECAUSE IT COMES FROM THEIR HEART, willing also to teach us a better ways of doing things but also open to do certain task the way asked to, and learn from experience.


    The property backs on to a provincial Park named Parlee Beach Provincial Park. In the winter time, snowshoeing is easily accessible from the house. In the summer, the beautiful beach with white sand is just a short walk down the road. The land has already gained 10 cedar trees, 1 peach tree, 5 cherry trees, 2 pear trees, and many garden areas such as a huge strawberry garden.

    We have some material to eventually build a greeenhouse (spring).

    If you are interested so far, please send a message why your are interested, and how you would like to contribute to this vision. I feel very strongly that life is very important and while we are here, we should do our best in whatever we do. So, when you come here, the people here will do our best to help you have the best experience possible. In return, you are expected to contribute as best as you can by following the guidance given.

    Thank you for considering to be here :)

    Marc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese Brasileiro, Español, Français, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are bedrooms available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -Parlee Beach
    -City of Moncton nearby. Shuttles travel to the City regularly. The tourist town of Shediac is a short bike ride, or fairly long walk away. Shediac has a great farmers market on Sundays! Shediac also has grocery stores, gas stations, banks,doctor's offices, a drive-in theatre, etc.
    -There are also restaurants nearby. The Pointe du Chene Warf, walking distance also has a restaurant that turns into a very popular night club on Tuesday nights.
    -New Brunswick has many music festivals happening on weekends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 499843552146