Learn about organic farming near Heywood, South West Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    50

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are beef producers living near Heywood, Victoria. Located within walking distance of the state forest and 11kms from the beach makes for an ideal holiday destination. We have a dog, ducks and chooks to enjoy. We have hosted international exchange students from many different countries. Some who have visited with us since. We enjoy riding motorbikes, attending church, and socialising with new people. Our children are all married with families of their own, located near and far (USA). The farm is certified organic. We would love to have interested people come and spend time with us and share in our journey. They may even be encouraged to begin their own food producing business.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are currently moving towards a more holistic managed enterprise which means there is more for us to do to apply these principles. Mob grazing using hot wires, setting up water points, fencing for shelter breaks and creating shady areas.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with a building renovation, general gardening, experience helping on a free range egg farm as well as helping with cattle/chickens etc.. We have a sawmill so there is plenty of timber available for building projects for those workawayers who have carpentry skills! Any one who has a background in marketing are keenly sought to help get our products into the public arena.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private room with own bathroom, in our 3 bedroom home, located on the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Portland is located 20kms on the coast. It is an international harbour, with seals, whales and an abundance of fishing, beaches, walking trails and scenic drives. The great ocean road is 145kms away and a days drive to complete.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our home located on top of a hill with an amazing view to the north.


Host ref number: 281163278733