Join our community family project and help with gardening and eco projects near Frohnleiten, Austria

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** MOVING HOUSES ***

    Hello there,

    we just bought an old stone - house (approx. 17th century) in the center Frohnleiten (near Graz) to set up a small community project and are looking for open hearted and easy going people who are interested in communities, renovation, sustainable building, Zero Waste lifestyle, gardening and working with kids. We mainly sleep in the house but commute back and forward from Graz about once a week.

    As soon as the house is ready, we are about to set up a meeting place for up to five families, where they can just get together, share facilities (e.g. coworking space, wood workshop, atelier), help each other with different tasks, find prepared learning environments for their children and share looking after the kids. All of these activities are based on the principle of sharing , as lack of time and increasing costs (especially for living / renting places) are where we see a lot of problems of modern society are rooted, even for those who try to make a difference. We also see a huge opportunity in shared spaces as far as sustainability, sealing grounds and the current building boom are concerned and actively network with other people and groups with the same idea.

    Frohnleiten is a small and friendly country town, the main square is very lively (especially in summer) and everything you need like supermarkets, doctors, hairdressers etc. is just a stone-throw away. For more culture and a diverse night-life, Graz is only 20 min. by train and trains run regularly. Around Frohnleiten a lot of opportunities for hiking, biking, climbing can be found, you are welcome to use our bikes including the cargo bike.

    We have a tiny but cosy Guestroom, our small bathroom is shared but the second one is under construction, some rooms are ready and comfortable but the house is still a building site and will be a few more months. We can also make room in our flat in Graz, at the moment we have a guest from Australia staying there.


    As our boys do not attend school, they are around a lot (as well as other kids) and we let them participate in whatever needs to be done as much as possible.

    Our house is very open, people often pop in throughout the day or hang out in the backyard, especially kids, we often don't know for how many people we are cooking for and always have a plan B for doubling up the food in case its needed :-)

    We are at the very beginning with all of our projects and are looking for people to help us with all kinds of things: working in the garden, helping with renovation, household routine, looking after the kids, collecting wild herbs, cooking, making learning materials for the learning environment, making Zero Waste stuff etc. . Also the room for the learning environment is ready, the craft room for the kids still needs to be finished.

    We can usually offer some space on the floor for people just traveling through on their way to somewhere else, train station is only 5 minutes on foot.

    Our boys are really very lively, homeschooled and we are letting them grow up as freely as possible, so helpers who join us should be very tolerant to noise and chaos. I'd like to point out that we really mean it and don't refer to the typically Austrian "Oh I´m sorry it is so chaotic" - while things are actually sparkling clean and tidy, when we say chaotic we mean CHAOTIC.

    Also we really appreciate it if helpers show initiative and are able to find things to do on their own from time to time. We love to spend time with our guests and do tasks together, but sometimes things around here get so crazy that we don´t have time to explain every project in great detail or do tasks alongside our helpers. At the same time you are welcome to structure the time you spend here freely, we agree on the things that need doing and you do them whenever you like. We have a list of projects you can choose from and a list with daily routines to help you structuring your stay here.

    We are a household of "mixed eaters" from everything-eater to vegan, we like good, organic food and of course can buy whatever our guests like to have.

    We speak German, fluent English, ok Spanish and know some basics in French, Hungarian and Italian. Guido is a technical Engineer and I work in addiction prevention and freelance as a photographer, but have paused all this top focus on this project. We have both travelled quite a bit and used to do a lot of hosting, as well as volunteering, so I hope we know what it takes to make somebody feel comfortable and also what is a fair load of tasks in exchange for food and accommodation.

    Looking forward to meeting new people, don´t hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions!
    Beli

    (-: *** FAMILIES WELCOME, we just need to check if we can make room, slightly depends on the current building-phase** :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy passing on the knowledge and skills we have and love exchanging ideas - in fact exchange is what we like best about welcoming travellers and so far it has been just great to have company from all around the world in our home.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The next tasks until SEPTEMBER are making more garden beds, sanding the wooden floors in the hallway, finishing the reading corner in the craft room, building a high bed in the courtyard from reused stones from the building, making a sauna, making a combustion oven, planting a wild hedge, setting up the kitchen, tidy up the tool workshop, making some learning materials for reading / dyslexia , upycling furniture for the coworking space and many more :-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Catalan: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Hungarian: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we have a small guest room with a 140cm wide couch that extends into a bed available for you. More guest rooms are under construction :-) Upon request we can also make room in our flat in Graz, if you want to stay there for longer, we can also find projects there as we are about to renovate the flat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are founding members of the local sustainability club (Nachhaltig in Frohnleiten) and volunteer quite a lot for the free shop across the road that is part of it. Our helpers are always welcome to volunteer there too, it´s fun :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our coworking space is under construction. At the moment we can offer a desk, a printer and some office supplies like cutters, laminator etc. ...

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Guido is allergic to cats and dogs, but if it would be o.k. with your pet, it could just stay downstairs in the courtyard / garden / tool workshop and hallway area.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 515534925775