Come and help us to build our cabin and tiny house extension with sustainable materials in Llandecwyn, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A home building project in Snowdonia, near Porthmadog. We are environmentalists; a couple that study ecology and practice sustainability in the built environment and in our lives. We run a community food garden.
    Our cottage is straw bale but we are adding onto it with cob, timber and materials we can source from site.
    Snowdonia is a beautiful area, we are near mountains and beaches with easy access to the town with reasonable public transport.
    We provide vegetarian food.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about building with interesting, low carbon materials and growing plants from experienced hosts . Lizzie grew up in the area and Charissa is from Manitoba, Canada. We met in Spain and ran an organic farm together for some years. We farmed olives, almonds, fruit and vegetables. Hablamos Español. We like to be sociable, but also value some time to ourselves each day.

  • Help

    Help

    We are building a cabin and then an interesting extension to our tiny home, using local, natural and recycled materials. We would like some help with this about 5 days a week for about 5 hours a day in the warmer months. The schedule will be flexible around our other commitments and the weather. Experienced people are welcome, but it is not required as you can learn skills here. Creativity and an interest in experimenting with materials is desirable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, basic French and a tiny bit of Welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our little caravan will provide basic accommodation for one or two people. It is situated near our cottage in a lovely place. We have 2 friendly cats and a dog. Also a few chickens and ducks.

    We will provide food, sharing lunches and making our own breakfasts and evening snacks. You will probably want to explore the beautiful area on days off, beaches and mountains are close.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a lovely area to walk around. There are buses and trains within a mile. Close to Portmeirion, Porthmadog, Harlech, Beddgelert.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 495998544735