Help us with gardening and small farm projects in Björkvik, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We live on the countryside in Sörmland, Sweden at a small farm with both a garden and forest to take care of. We are a family with two children, Doris and Ester 5 and 4 years old, 2 rabbits and a cat. During the summertime we also have cows in our pen close to the house.
    We have smaller and larger projects both in the house, in other buildings on the farm, in the forest - and together with the children.
    Stefan guides, travels and provide leadership trainings for work, when not taking care of our children and of our farm, while Helena works full time in a technical consultancy firm.
    We enjoy travelling and learning to know about new cultures and ways of living. We look forward to now have the world coming to visit us.
    We look forward to have people from all over the world come living/working with us - and in the cottage there is room for a couple, 2 friends or a small family. We think that would suit us best.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are closely connected to the village where we live, for example in the local culture organisation who organize conserts locally during the year. Our children play with their friends close by, many of them also living on a farm with different activiites. We live very close to the nature (mainly the forest which is quite important to us), we are interested in how to live a sustainable life and leave something sustainable to our children. The urban life is though not unfamiliar for us, since we both has lived and worked in Stockholm for many years.

    Both Stefan and Helena have been travelling and living abroad for many years - primarily with Doctors Without Borders and through different adventure travel agencies, and are truly interested in other cultures, habits and people living different kinds of lives.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to have help with:

    - baby sitting, playing with our children
    - gardening
    - smaller projects in the farm (for example renovating windows, painting the house, forest work, minor construction work).

    You will have full support and Stefan is a star on describing and instructing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several houses on the farm, and primarily we offer one cottage (built in 1870-something) close to the main building, where there is one bedroom with bouble size bed, a kitchen and a living room - and your own garden. The shower is outside, and the toilette is just around the corner. In the main builiding there is a fully equiped kitchen, bathroom and washing room.

    We would very much see that you have your meals with us, but respect if you prefer to have some of the meals in you own in the cottage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is 8 km to the closest small shop, so we live in a quite rural place, but only some 3 minutes bike ride away we have a small country/western village who during summer time offers music shows, daily meals, coffee etc. Several of the farms around offer cafe activities (the typical Swedish "fika"), and not far off there is a stone age village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We offer Wi-Fi and there is space in the cottage to work from.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 495788161367