Help us around our family smallholding in rural Poitou Charentes, France

Country

France

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We moved to France 16 years ago with 2 young children and another one on the way we wanted our children to grow up in the country side and to have a stress free life. We ditched the rat race for a simple life. We live in an old farm house and have a holiday property we let out and a large plot of land to keep chickens and sheep and grow our own vegetables. There are only three of us at home now so we have spare rooms perfect for work aways. We are in rural France 2.5kms away from a village with all amenities its flat here so great for cycling, there is a large open air swimming pool in the village open July and August a covered pool 20 mins away open all year round. We are halfway between the two large towns of Niort and Poitiers. We are English but speak fluent french and would be happy to give lessons in either English or French.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a French speaking English family so anyone wishing to learn English or French in a family environment. We enjoy visiting local events, we have been here for 15 years so if you are thinking of moving to France and need any advice on general day to day living in rural France.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for someone to help with gardening and general maintenance some painting and decorating, varnishing and woodwork. General house work and ironing. We like to make do and mend wherever possible recycling. Since November last year we have become a meat free and dairy free house so are currently learning lots of new vegan recipes so anyone who enjoys vegan cooking would be a very welcome visitor!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with ensuite facilities or own cottage depending on availability and time of the year.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the first time we have posted on this site, we have bikes you can borrow to get to the local village a car though would be handy if you want to go further afield. We would be happy to pick up from nearest station/ airport . There is a monkey sanctuary half an hour away, silver mines in Melle, romanesque churches, Niort our nearest larger town is reachable by bus from Melle. We are welcoming and are looking forward to sharing our life and experiences here in our little corner of France.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Full internet connection from your room desk at your disposal

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 495577496399