Come and be a part of our family and welcome to the Swedish countryside in Norberg, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 373 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Please stay 7-14 days.
    Check out for train time tables to station Karbenning.

    Availability in May:
    Arrive May 8th or later.
    Depart May 22nd or earlier.

    Availability in June:
    Arrive June 5th or later, leave June 22 nd.
    Arrive June 26th or later.

    We are Vivi (39) and Nils (39) with the children Rebecka Leone (11) and Stig Love (10). We are a warm family who loves welcoming workawayers to our home.

    We live in Karbenning, a village on the countryside in Bergslagen, the heart of Sweden, easily accessed by train (Stockholm - Karbenning 2hours).

    The cross country skiing trails starts right from our back door.

    We try to live our lives environmental friendly, why we eat a lot of vegetables, locally produced meat and try to not use our car too often.

    We have a few rabbits and some chickens.

    About us:
    Year 2022 we took a gap year and spent the year in Spain.

    Year 2015 we travelled as workawayers in Spain and Belgium. It was a great experience to travel with children. Do you have a family? Bring them with you.

    Nils works as a forester in the forests of Avesta, Dalecarlia. Vivi works with rural development.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer you Swedish culture and nature experience
    * Use our bicycles and experience the countryside.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Walk to the lake with chance to see beaver, beaver tracks
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Excursions and picnics in the nearby villages. We are surrounded by cultural history, iron mining since the Middle Ages (!)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Social gatherings, meet other swedish people

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Tasks planned for 2023
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Painting facade of the house. (Scraping off paint first)
    * Scraping and painting doors
    * Gardening

    Puhutko suomea? Olet erityisen tervetullut!

    Other tasks
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Reparation in our 200 m2 wooden house built in 1909
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Renovate inside the guest house. Build a pentry. Do you know plumbing or carpentry?
    * Renovate chicken pen and build better cages for our small animals.
    * Renovate green houses.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Weeding, gardening, cut grass, clean gravel from weeds. Prepare growing beds.
    * Develop area surrounding duck pond.

    It's important you like children, since we have two kids.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Shared accommodation in guesthouse with 2 single beds and toilet (WC). The guesthouse above the garage in the garden.

    We have a sauna in the big house.
    300 metres from train station.
    500 metres from lake where you can have picnic, swim, fish, skii.
    1 kilometre from the local community center with gym (Bygdegården, check out ).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the village there are many people engaged in different projects and the possibilities to take part of social gathering are many.

    In the community centre there is a gym, gym hall, kindergarten and conference rooms. All is run by volunteers. Some evenings there are sports activites, movie nights, pop-up restaurants or knitting cafées.

    In Karbenning there are small scale farms with cows, horses and sheep. There is a trail around the river where you can go for beaver safari.

    You easily travel to Karbenning by train. Train stops in Avesta Krylbo (where you can change to Arlanda and Stockholm), Örebro, Fagersta, Skinnskatteberg, Gävle etc. Check for time table. Our station is "Karbenning".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Excellent Broadband connection in the houses.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Parking and electricity is provided.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Small pets ok, but we don’t have stable for horses.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 493613462823

Feedback (21)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join us in the beautiful nature in Swedish Lapland, Sweden
Cultural exchange, good food, gardening and building in Bekinge, southern Sweden