Experience Swedish Lapland - helping hands needed!!

Country

Sweden

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    596

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear Traveller!

    We are Nici, Chris and little Zoe (born in April 2018). In July last year we made our dream reality and bought a house in the north of Sweden, where we will live from now on. We are both very open minded and always interested in meeting people from different places of the world.
    We both are traveler and used to go on travels with workaway the way you may do now. For almost 2 years we went to Sweden, Norway, Canada and the western parts of the USA. Hitchhiking was for us the best way of traveling, because you get in contact with local people very easy and so you can make your first experiences in a different country right away.

    We believe that we have made enough experiences with workaway our-self to now be a good host for you. =)

    In the upcoming years we will build a place for guest's to come and get to know the beautiful swedish nature on many different way's :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Nici is a good cook and can show you what cooking is actually all about :).
    I love fishing and as you probably know, Sweden is one of the best places on Earth for fishing, therefore I will show you how to catch fish or certain techniques and can tell you anything about it if you want to.
    We have a few different bicycles at home with which you could go and explore the surrounding area on your own or with one of us.
    There are big animals in the forests around us which we would of course like to show you. There`s almost a guaranty that you will get to see moose.
    If you are interested in our nature, we will make you understand it better and show you our nature which is just outside the door.
    We have a nice little place in the forest close to the village where they`ve build a sauna which is for everyone`s use. Right after you have been in the sauna you can cool down in the creek/pond just outside of it.

    If you come in the wintertime (or between Sep-Apr)... you will depending on the weather probably get to see Northern Lights. We still see it as the most fascinating happening we got on earth. If you want, one of us is always up for a Photosession in the middle of the night ;) .
    Also in the wintertime, you will definitely meet Reindeers around here. We are told, that they`re usually walking around in the yard pretty often.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in many directions. We bought another property where we need to go through everything and find out, what we can keep and what we have to through away. There is a lot of scrap laying in the garden and in the house. We already started with it but since it is so much, it will be a ongoing thing the next week's.
    Shoot me message, so I will write some more details, videos or pictures, so you know what it looks like and you won't be surprised after your arrival.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, swiss-german and swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your sleeping place can be depending on you either a own room with a bed in our house or a tent on the property.
    We can provide you food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We will have breakfast and dinner all together. We usually eat only 2 meals a day, which is in the morning and in the late afternoon around 5pm. You can help yourself if you want something in between for lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As I somewhere on the page already mentioned... In your time off you can go for hikes nearby, go fishing in the river or in different lakes, borrow a bicycle, Kanu or Kayak and go on exploring tour.
    Whenever possible for us, we like to join you on your trips if you want to. You can also go and relax in the local sauna we have just outside of the village.
    If you want to see what the small towns around us look like, we can go there and take our time to look around.
    And if you like to do sports, such as jogging - we can do that as often as you want.

    If you do not eat meat or if you`re even vegan, we can not provide you much food for your meals.

    We do not drink alcohol our self but we`re not against it. If you do want to drink some beer or others we would recommend you to do so in a bar or restaurant in the towns nearby

    We don`t want you to smoke inside of the house, if you are a smoker and need your cigarette the best would be to always go for a little walk.

    The closest grocery store is about 25 min (by car) away from us which has not the biggest selection. There`s a town about 35 min from here where you can find some stores and restaurants.
    We have a bus coming to Björksele but we can also come and pick you up at some place if it`s not to far away.

    One last thing... we have a Dog living with us. As soon as the snow is gone, we will build a Dog-yard for her. It`s still a puppy and does need a lot of attention ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depending on the tasks we ask you to work a maximum of 3-4 hours a day for 5 days a week




Host ref number: 474749633282