Help me set up a permaculture designed paradise near Sintra, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 165 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a project i have started this year.
    I have taken over half a hectar of land with a well and some healthy fruit trees in a semi industrial area near Sintra (30min from Lisbon) and want to set up a space for artistic residencies where artists will work on their projects as well as on the land. My aim is to set up a permaculture designed paradise and host dancers moving alongside broccoli, music and carrots growing together and painters drawing goats : )
    It is still in it's embryonic stage and i need all the help i can get to set it up. Looking for carpenters, builders, plumbers, gardeners, permaculturists with experience and vision. I can host large groups and as i'm alone in the land for now will appreciate the team feeling.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning natural building techniques, how to live in nature, how to set up an arts residency, permaculture principles, hands on experience with land and building.

  • Help

    Help

    I am starting up my Eco/Art project at the foot of Sintra mountain in Portugal. I currently need help with starting up things. Organizing and working the garden, setting up permaculture design, building lake, renovating the warehouse and shacks attached, building a community space with tires, outside showers and more structural work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Beds in warehouse or camping outside. Toilet, hot shower and basic cooking facilities provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have moved into this land 6 months ago and am starting up an arts residency space where artists will also have to care for the land. As an artist myself, my view on how i have impact on the world around me has shifted over these years from making art to working on the land. Eating my own vegetables sounds much more like a revolution nowadays than screaming poetry on the streets : )
    My interest in having volunteers is to get physical help as well as to create an international network of like minded people. I would like to have around hard working people that love art and nature as much as i do.
    The project is situated 30 min by train from Lisbon in a rural\industrial area just 10 minutes away from magic Sintra. It is very easy to go anywhere from here and transport to and from the station can be organized easily. Great beaches are 30min away. The perfect spot to stay for a while in between nature and civilization. There are bicycles to go to the shop or nearest train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 491984993358