Welcoming people to help on a small family run farm in a beautiful and remote part of the West-Fjords in Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A small family owned farm with 30 milking cows, 60 cattle, some sheep, chickens, a cat, dog and a goose is looking for some help.
    Day to day activities are run by farmer Steini, who has been helped by me (his niece) and my partner for the past years. As we are now moving to the capital with our infant son, we are looking for Workawayers to help Steini out on the farm in our absence. The farm has been in our family for generations and is the westernmost milking farm in Europe.

    The farm is mainly a dairy farm. The help is mostly taking care of our cows and calves, milking twice a day, feeding the cows and maintaining their well-being.
    We also have a few sheep that need to be fed. We keep some chickens for eggs for ourselves, as well as a little greenhouse which operates in the summer. The farm also has a weather observation station as well as it overlooks a breeding ground for the arctic tern and eider duck.
    Our dog, Birta (border collie) is very friendly and active, likes to play fetch and help as she can around the farm.
    Please note that the work around here is quite physical as we do much by hand and it also demands an empathy for animal behaviour.

    We believe in slow living, living in harmony with nature and animals and a sustainable life. Therefore, we do our best to live off our land whilst protecting the environment. Alongside the farming we grow vegetables, herbs in our greenhouse and experiment with different dairy products for the household with our milk.
    Our animals are a part of our family, they each have names most often given to them because of their personality, colour or what was going on when they were born for example. We love to cuddle them and treat them with the utmost respect and care.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We welcome anyone who is interested in getting to know the way of life in this very isolated yet stunning place and how we mix traditional survival methods of our ancestors with modern way of living.
    You will be able to experience living in close proximity with amazing nature, near the red sands of Rauðisandur. You will gain experience in on a farm, taking care of and getting to know animals, and milking cows. As it's a quiet isolated farm you'll get an opportunity to learn much about cattle behaviour and their personality, a species we believe to be one of the most wonderful in the world!
    Staying at Lambavatn you will experience living in an area not many people visit. The surrounding area is full of amazing and beautiful Icelandic landscape, you will learn to respect the juxtapositions of Iceland, the quiet and the magnificent power of nature.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    You will help us with our day to day tasks such as:

    Taking care of the cows, milking twice a day includes washing and applying milking machines, feeding them and keeping the stable clean.
    Feeding the calves milk. Feeding the sheep.
    Helping with the chickens - they need to be fed and the water changed daily. Eggs should be collected and the hen house closed properly for the night, with all the chicken inside.
    Other incidental events such as herding the animals, moving them between the two stables here, helping with delivery of calves and more.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own small house, with a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with a shower, a living room with a sofa bed and TV, and two small bedrooms, so it’s perfect for a single person, a couple or two friends. The house also comes with a laundry machine and a dishwasher. Please know that the phone connectivity is not as stable as in other parts of Iceland. There is a decent wifi connection in the main house which you can use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located on Rauðisandur on the south coast of the Westfjords, one of the most beautiful and wild parts of Iceland. The beach at Rauðisandur is renowned for yellow/reddish sands, beautiful scenery and magnificent mountains around.
    The nearest village is Patreksfjörður and is about 40 km from the farm with a mountain to cross so consider spending most of the time around the countryside of our farm but seeing as it has countless possibilities of outdoor adventures with the red sand and mountains we believe one couldn’t be at a better place. Enjoy your free time walking around the area, reading, relaxing and soaking in the magnificent countryside.
    Trips to nearby attractions are also possible so we recommend anyone considering staying with us to have a driving license.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week minimum



Host ref number: 491489883237