Help with our B&B in the beautiful Scottish Borders

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are situated in East Berwickshire in the beautiful Scottish Borders, close to scuba diving at St. Abbs, surfing at Coldingham Bay and the fishing port of Eyemouth. We are only 12 miles from the English Border and historic town of Berwick-upon-Tweed and an hour to the fantastic Scottish capital, Edinburgh. The dramatic Northumberland coast and Newcastle are all within easy reach of our B&B.
    My husband, Fraser, is CEO for a dementia charity near Newcastle and I let 3 of our 7 bedrooms for B&B guests.It is a large house in almost an acre of garden. We are looking for responsible, hardworking, friendly Workawayers to help us , mainly with the bed and breakfast. On quiet days there are plenty of jobs around the house and garden (cleaning, gardening, general maintenance). Liking animals is a must as we have 3 lively but very friendly dogs.
    References will be required.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to experience life in the Scottish Borders and yet have easy access to our fabulous capital, Edinburgh. You will gain experience in running a small hospitality business. On your days off we can give you ideas where to visit locally to get the best out of this area, we have a world famous marine reserve on our doorstep.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Most tasks will be in the mornings and revolve around the bed and breakfast activities (help serving breakfast, clearing tables, room changeovers, cleaning, laundry etc). Our B&B has an excellent ratings online so my standards are very high in all aspects of the bed and breakfast.
    We would also like some general help around the house and garden, tasks could include gardening, painting, cooking, helping declutter, there is always something to do!!
    We can be flexible on days and times depending on bookings! I teach dog agility on Wednesday evenings and so you may need to help check in new guests in the evening.
    Please note we are a non-smoking household and business. Smoking is not allowed in any rooms/areas inside the house, or near doors and windows when in the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some German and a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a double bedroom with your own bathroom ( bathroom may be shared when family stay). Shared kitchen and living areas plus use of a small sitting room. Most meals (or makings of a meal) will be provided and there will be a small weekly allowance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can go diving locally, surfing, walking. With railway stations at Berwick- upon- Tweed and Dunbar it is very easy to travel to Edinburgh and beyond or go south to Newcastle. Just over the border is Northumberland with its dramatic coastline, Lindisfarne is only 30 minutes away and Harry Potters Alnwick castle and Alnwick gardens are 45 minutes.
    Houndwood is in a fairly rural location. There is a small tearoom 100m away but no shop. We do have internet/wifi but it may be slower than you are used to. Mobile phone signals are generally good.
    There is a bus stop outside the house with buses every 2 hours (weekdays, reduced service on Saturdays and Sundays) taking you to local towns and villages or railway stations to go further afield.Eyemouth is 25 mins by bus (10 mins by car) and is our nearest town with supermarket, banks, doctors, dentist, leisure centre, swimming pool and pharmacy.
    Fraser and I are often busy with work, family and hobbies so we may be able to drop you off places by car too.If you have a valid UK driving license , or equivalent then use of our van my be possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 491427443784