Come enjoy the island life and peaceful getaway in a jungle paradise!

Country

United States

Favourited 686 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha, Come enjoy a peaceful homestead in a jungle paradise.
    I live with my 2 daughters (age 13 and 14) and son (18) on a 5 acre tropical farm.
    We have been living a sustainable lifestyle and homesteading for over 12 years in Kealakekua, Hawaii. We live in an 80% recycled home surrounded by organic gardens and permicultured landscapes. We have a cat and a dog. My children are wonderful and each have their own talents and interests. They are independent and helpful.
    I am looking for a solid, responsible, and independent person who can contribute to our scene. It is also very important that we hold the same values for well-being.
    We will be starting a photo collection of our family, homesteading practices, local community gardens, beaches and farms. Summer will be in full swing and our island’s bounty will be at it’s fullest. We will be harvesting various fruits and vegetables and preparing dinners from this bounty. We will help you make a clear connection to the earth and see how we are provided for.
    I like to give you 3 days off in a row so you can go on adventures all over the island.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live at 1700ft elevation, so it is slightly cooler and refreshing at night. You will have access to plenty of fresh tropical fruits and vegetables. We live 10 minutes drive from the ocean and 25 minutes from downtown Kona. Local Bus stop is at the end of my road.
    Our Island offers amazing hiking right from my home, (check out the 7 mile Captain Cook Monument trail). The entrance is a 10 minute walk from my house. ...all kinds of ocean sports, and camping. Also 10 minutes from dolphin resting area, so you can swim with the dolphins in the morning.
    Please bring your own masks, fins, and snorkel. We have bodyboards for your use.

  • Help

    Help

    I hope you are interested in photography as we will be starting a new project of documenting our family, homesteading practices, local community gardens, beaches and farm life here in Hawaii. You must also have interest and knowledge of healthy cooking. We do eat meat. Cleanliness is very important and helping with household chores will be expected, but we guarantee you will have an amazing time.
    A valid Drivers License and health insurance is a must.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bungalow tent, or bedroom depending on availability, both equipped with a full size mattress, desk, pic-nik table, fire pit, electricity, wifi, and private flush toilet. Temperature at night is about 60-5 F and daytime 80-5F. Access to a shared outdoor kitchen and shower. You will be responsible to preparing your own breakfast and lunch and help with dinner planning and cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Amazing 7 mile hiking trail all the way down to the ocean walking minutes from my house. Sunday Farmers market 15 walking minutes. Kealakukua Bay has the closest beach access. There are Black sand beaches, green sand beaches, white sand beaches, waterfalls and tropical jungles all over the island. The most popular activities are swimming, kayaking, surfing, fishing, diving, and exploring.
    The bus stop 1/3 mile at the bottom of my road. This bus will take you all around the island.
    You can camp and visit a rainforest in Volcano National Park about 1.5hours from where I live.
    The volcano is still active but is not flowing. It is an amazing place for hikers and nature enthusiasts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-6 hours a day M-TH (max 25 hours)




Host ref number: 489985762912