Join our family of four in Ashdown Forest in Sussex, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family of four in Ashdown Forest - an area of outstanding natural beauty in Sussex, UK. We have the joy of owning a magical 2.5 acre organic botanical garden which we could do with extra hands to maintain.

    We are ideally looking for a single person, couple or two friends to join our family and pitch in with gardening, dog walking, general house help / maintenance and some childcare (creative play, evening babysitting etc). Our children are 7 and 3.

    We are 3 miles from the nearest village of Forest Row, 40 min drive from Brighton and an hour on the train from London.

    For garden enthusiasts we have a wealth of incredible gardens nearby including Wakehurst, Sheffield Gardens and Hever Castle.

    We love meeting new people and can offer a double bedroom with en suite and desk. There is also a private living room and small separate Kitchen if no other guests are staying.

    We love entertaining and you can be sure of delicious vegetarian meals.

    We have two cats and one dog.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The joy of living in a forest with a magical botanical garden, pond and forest waterfalls to explore. Fascinating and unique history to the estate and grounds.

    Animals and birds galore. Beth is an avid bird spotter and can share information on breeds to be found in the forest.

    There will be opportunities to learn about the maintenance of a 100 year+ botanical garden and the many species of plants and trees including pruning, clearing and shaping. Also learn about pond maintenance and support the renovation of the bog garden. We are learning as we go and would welcome people with some gardening know how to exchange knowledge and ideas.

    We recently renovated a dry Japanese zen garden and plan to add it to it with moss like ground cover and other features.

    Our home is a vegetarian household and Beth loves cooking - so she is very happy to share recipes and teach guests how to make dishes.

    Beth and her wife Anna love meeting people from all around the world and learning more about different cultures and lifestyles. We would treat guests as one of the family. We would hope that if a guest liked cooking they would share their favourite dishes (vegetarian) or baking.

    Breakfast and lunches are a ‘help yourself’ affair whereas dinners are eaten together and tend to be cooked by Beth. We eat with the kids if Anna is working at home otherwise we eat later once the kids are in bed. We enjoy dinners together as a chance to get to know guests.

    Depending on guests’ interests and situation they are welcome to join us on trips to the beach or nearby visitor attractions.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, dog walking, general maintenance childcare and daily life.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own double bedroom with desk and en-suite.
    Access to private living space and small kitchen.
    Use of rest of family house.

    We are a vegetarian household and ask that meat and fish are not cooked on site. We are more relaxed when we get a takeaway and guests can have cooked meats in the upstairs fridge.

    We will chat to guests about their preferences and have breakfast and lunch foods available for them to help themselves to.

    Dinner is a relaxed family meal - either with the kids or after they have gone to bed, generally cooked by Beth. Guests would be treated like part of the family and eat dinner with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Car strongly recommended as we are 3 miles from nearest village and it is a steep, busy A road.

    Many historical houses and gardens nearby (mainly National Trust).

    5 min drive to nearest villages (car essential)
    40 min drive to beach and Brighton
    25 min drive to Lewes
    1 hour on train to London

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 489722578693