Welcoming help in a beautiful Masseria, tipical farmhouses, Puglia, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tiziana , Pietro (a couple) and Mariano (Pietro's father) and we live in Apulia in a big old farmhouse (Masseria).
    I am an Italian teacher for foreigners, Pietro is a chemist and Mariano is a pensioner and he practices fishing and hunting. We are doing some renovation and gardening work and we could really do with some help.

    We have 2 dogs and a nice cat. We love animals and nature, we like to eat organic food and local products and we are very careful with the food we buy. We have a vineyard, lots of olive trees and fruit trees (cherries, apricots, figs, plums etc.).

    We like to host friends and share our big place, we love good company. Pietro is a good cook and I like to prepare cakes and learn new recipes. Sometimes we would like to have lunch or dinner with our guests, we could prepare something for them or we could cook together.

    The area where we live is beautiful surrounded by a small protected wood of ancient oaks. But we are also very close to the village: 10 minutes on foot or 5 minutes by bike. We have a bike for you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn from us a bit of history about the farm (Masseria), what it was and what was done in these places. They could learn to recognize some plants or birds that are in this area. You definitely could learn some Italian (if you are not Italian). We would also like to learn something from our guests and share experiences and knowledge.
    We believe a lot in the cultural exchange that Workaway offers to all of us.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with general maintenance, restoration of antique furniture, gardening, tree pruning. It may need to feed the dogs or spend some time with them, they are very sweet. Everything also depends on one's attitudes and abilities, we like to talk to guests and decide together what to do. Tips will always be appreciated!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a part of the Masseria, completely independent, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen. A giant garden, the possibility to relax and walk in the wood. Food is not included, but you could take our fruits or vegetables from the garden when is possible. When I have time I like to prepare cakes with and for our guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest airport is Bari (30 min) and Brindisi (1h30). There is a train station (10 minutes from here) with direct lines from Bari. Buses go to the beach at Polignano a Mare, 40 minutes away. From here you can easily visit Matera, Alberobello, Polignano a Mare, Monopoli, Ostuni and other wonderful places in Puglia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, but remember we also have 2 dogs and 1 cat (he doesn't like big dogs...)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

Host ref number: 488992951686