Language exchange and share stories in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The planned move I mentioned before has been cancelled, I did not obtain the new house. So right now I do not have the second bedroom available which limits who I can host. I will keep this profile updated if things change.

    My name is John Kirk I am a 71 year old widower. All my family live in the United Kingdom so I have no family here in the USA. I have two children, a son and a daughter. My daughter has two children, who have visited me here in Florida some two years ago. I have two brothers in the UK, and many cousins. The primary reason for registering as a host is, quite honestly, companionship.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Food and accommodation is provided. I would be glad to show a workawayer all the local cultural places of interest. I cannot offer much in the way of remuneration, but would be willing to help out when needed. I am a good teacher, with fifty years in aviation where much of my time was spent teaching young aviators. I am good at language, and English lessons would be beneficial to us both. I do enjoy concerts, museums, art galleries. I have recently attended two Renaissance Festivals, which are great fun. The beaches in Florida are wonderful, and I would gladly take the workawayer to the beaches. (See photo)

  • Help

    Help

    I am a 71 year old widower. I can speak German and French, and am learning a little Spanish. I am a retired helicopter pilot. The help I need is minimal, some housework, and walking the two dogs when I cannot. I can do with some help with shopping, as I can life only small amounts. I am particularly keen on helping those wishing to learn English. I play music, piano and saxophone, so anyone who has an interest in music would be welcome. If the workawyer can drive a car that would be appreciated, but not mandatory. A valid international driving license would be needed if they wanted to drive.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am fluent in English, competent (studied up to linguist standard but did not take the exam to qualify) in German. Learned French at school, and Arabic in Oman when I worked there. I would love to teach English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a two bedroom home and two bathrooms. This might change if I move house. The workawayer would have his own room, cable TV in the bedroom, and his own bathroom. I would expect us to eat together, and if the guest can cook, great, but I do like cooking. If there are any special dietary requirements I would gladly meet those, such as vegetarian or any food allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There would be plenty of time off for the guest as the work requirements are small. WiFi provided, so the guest can easily keep in touch with family back home. If the guest wishes to go out on their own that would be fine. The local places of interest are easily reached by Uber, or I can drive them and pick them up. Of course this part of Florida has many great beaches to visit. If you apply tell me your interests, what you would like to see.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital nomads can work at a large desk, private, good WiFi connection. Depending on their studies I can also help with a few books that I have from my own time studying for my BSC in Aeronautics. If I move home there will be a separate office/crafts room available for study.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have two dogs of my own, Shetland Sheepdog girls. They are very friendly and would have no trouble hosting a workaway pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    The help expected is very light, probably only as much as an hour a day.



Host ref number: 486773238136