With a little help from my (new workaway) friend! (Is that you?) Noord Brabant, the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 175 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    301

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Im a mum with 2 kids (10,12) and a cat named Gizmo.

    When staying with us, you'll blend in as a friend or familymember.
    If you like kids, a strange cat and Helping us out? You are more than warmly welcomed.

    The project is most general maintanace like sanding, painting and cleaning and a lot of vegan cooking.
    (It would be a gift to us if you are able to help us re-pave the garden or if you are a carpenter or someone with that skills.)

    We live a 5 minutes walk from the forest, and the beautiful moor. You can walk and enjoy nature at its best.
    It is a 20 min. drive to the city of Eindhoven.

    Im working parttime at the Dutch railways, and allways willing to help you with the best info about travelling trough the Netherlands. Im allso a self employed vegan chef, so I cook a lot. Most of the time i cook for charity, and i bring food to the elderly. Once a month I host a dinner at my place to show how tasty it can be, saving the world and its animals by eating plantbased. Thats always a joy with a house full of people to talk to and to get to know our culture from the inside out. I might need your hand and help in the kitchen!

    We live with a budget that is paltry, and we’re not wealthy.
    That means we are not able to spoil you rotten, but I cook food for you with love.
    Because im a single mum, i have several jobs and not the time to do things like proper cleaning in the house. That is where you come in!
    The house is filled with thriftfindings, and we love to recycle stuff.
    We eat plantbased (Im vegan, my kids flexitarians) and I love to cook for you!
    I dont provide dairy products. (If you want to use those, during your stay, you can buy them yourselve)

    Contribution to the daily grind is a must. Like be it preparation, washing up dishes, wiping down the table, vacume clean or empty dishwasher (the normal stuff).
    We hope you to be pro active. So your stay does benefit both of us. (I dont want the feeling of me beeing a hotel manager 😣)

    And extra;
    If you stay with us, it would make us very happy if you would contribute to our world travel receipy book.
    Just bring your own favourite vegetarian or vegan receipy to add to the book.
    I'm planning on publish it in the future 😊

    Leaving a readingbook in your own language for the attic where you sleep, would be great to! There is a big pile of books to swop. Then maybe the next workaway guest is able to read it! A worldwide free little librairy!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the days you stay with us, we see you as our family with all the things a Dutch family does. We wil invite you to join us on some events. Like a birthdayparty, neighbourhoodmeeting, festival etc.
    You are free to say yes or no.
    You have the time to do a daytrip. To learn Dutch or just realex in the backgarden or at the attic, where your private spot is.

    And... I wil cook typical Dutch food or learn you how to prepaire that (if you like), as; hutspot, bitterballen, pepernoten, appeltaart, kapsalon, oliebollen, poffertjes, erwtensoep etc. (Vegan ofcourse!)

  • Help

    Help

    When you know something about;
    *️️ is French your native language? Then help me by teaching your tongue.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️paving; would like you to pave my terrace?
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️cleaning. Deep clean different parts of the house. Like kitchen, the stove or bathroom.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️painting: will you help me with painting my walls, sanding and painting skirting boards, chairs and doors?
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️carpenting; my house still needs a lot of carpenting. A few examples? I wish someone could make a new fence. A big closet, Shelves, woodstorage rack and a nice window-sill,
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️are you in to sowing? I still have some small sowing things to do and Im not able to use the machine 😂 maybe you can teach me!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️cleaning and gardening; yes I can! But alone, things are not that much fun. If you are willing to work with me together, it is twice the fun. And faster! And when i'm working? There is enough work for a whole week in the garden.. please be my guest.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ there is ironingwork.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ art. Are you in to arts and crafts? There is allways colour needed in our lives. We have some arty "tasks" as wel.
    Things with beads, painting, scrapbooking, garden ornaments etc. Ow and i 'need'' someone to brush the hair of my little pony collection...
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Maybe you can help me with my wordpress website..
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️making a geocache awesome and helping to make it active?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German and poor French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying under our roof as a familymember.
    Our house is cosy but not that big.
    You can sleep in the attic where we made you your own private space.
    It has a very steep loftladder! Be carefull!
    Facileties are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At days I work (late shifts) I can take you to the station when my shift starts. About 8 hrs later, I can taxi you back to our place.

    Eindhoven AirPort is near. Only 15 km away. Ofcourse you can use our WiFi, and if you are in to doing things together, we can. I wil help you with all cultural things you want to learn or know.

    There is no public transport here in the evening or during weekends. Ofcourse I can bring you to nearest public transport then. Late in the evening I am not able to help you with that. when kids are sleeping, I wont leave the house.

    And my bike is in the shed. If you would like to go for a spin, you can use that!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A few hours, max 5 a day, 5 days a week

Realexed in bathtub in backyard/garden
Me, Veralynn & Fender
On the road with our ‘familymember’ Isabel
Our Little Free Librairy in the front garden. Community board payed for it. Our village is very cultural and bonding
Offering workaway Thomas to be his first hitchhike. With workaway Nhan Sing to a food truck festival
Valgue cut my hair during her workaway stay at our place. ❤
Having a fire With friends and workaway Hero David.
A 5 minute walk from the house
Food is where it all comes together...
My kitchen and most favourite place of the house
Gizmo
Livingroom
In summertime this is the part of the house we have breakfast















Host ref number: 485554573614