Join a five-acre hobby farm, situated outside of Vancouver in Beautiful British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    FYI. We are open for workaway guests in October

    Our five acre hobby farm is situated just over one hour from Vancouver in Beautiful British Columbia but far away from the hectic pace of urban life.

    Ute and Ray are senior citizens in their seventies. Our family of two boys and one girl, with their spouses and adult kids, live nearby. Ute was mostly a stay home mom with lots of love for children and Ray worked as a baker, cake decorator and chocolatier before retirement. We are not afraid of hard work but we also enjoy our back patio with family and friends for BBQ and a good time on a nice sunny day.

    Our land consists mostly of pasture and some trees. The pasture is leased to a local dairy farmer for summer grazing his cows. We regularly see deer pass across our pasture and yard, and occasionally we see a black bear in our apple tree. We try to grow most of our vegetables for the summer in a fenced-in garden to protect it from the deer.

    We have lived on and built up this property for over 45 years; in that time it has certainly become, as the French would say, "chez nous"!

    While we don't get out as often as we would like, we enjoy traveling with our camping trailer and flat water kayaking on our local lakes. During the school year, we volunteer at our local Catholic elementary school as tutors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While we both grew up in the Cologne area of Germany, we have lived in Canada for fifty years. Over that time, we have seen Canada become more diverse and welcoming of people from all over the world. As immigrants ourselves, we are well aware of the challenges and the rewards newcomers have to this country.

    Our household has always been a welcoming place. Besides raising our family, we have given a home to numerous foster children over many years. Family, guests and friends alike appreciate that we still love baking, and even making chocolates for special occasions, and we love to demonstrate some of these skills.

    We would welcome you into our home and include you in as many activities as you wish to participate in. You would experience Canadian country living and hopefully gain an appreciation for our region's natural beauty.

  • Help

    Help

    Our home and property needs some general upkeep like painting doors, helping in the house, pressure washing the walkways and patio, small outside repair jobs, and making firewood if time allows. The flower and vegetable gardens could use a green thumb.

    Of course there is always cooking and general cleaning to keep the household going.

    You don’t need to be skilled, as long as you are a quick learner and willing to work. After all, that’s how we learned to build up our home and landscape without prior experience. However, a willingness to learn to operate power tools and garden equipment like lawnmowers, chainsaws, and brush cutters would be an asset as these are used from time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private suite contains a bedroom, sitting area and bathroom. A tiny kitchenette with a fridge and microwave completes the space. A wall of windows offers a stunning view of the Cascade Mountains beyond your own patio!

    Meals are a communal activity, both in preparation and in eating, and they offer valuable opportunities for connection and sharing. We look forward to tasting other cuisines.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our Catholic faith is important to us, so while we welcome people of all backgrounds, we expect that you would respect our Christian values.

    Given an extremely limited household data cap of only 2 GB per month, we are unable to provide internet access. Free WiFi is available in many businesses and libraries in Chilliwack, which is about a 15 minute drive away. We drive into town regularly, and we'd be happy to have you catch a ride with us. Younger people sometimes bicycle into town and back, but we don't anymore!

    For your free time, we encourage you to discover the natural beauty around us. Our area is very rural and surrounded by forests and meadows. Many hiking trails are nearby, and numerous beautiful lakes are within an hour's drive for swimming and kayaking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ute and Ray


Host ref number: 484874381341