Come help to build an eco-house, plant trees and live in an authentic community. Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Mario and the place that I'm building is meant to be my personal refuge to fulfill my need of silence, peace, nature and to balance it with my need for chaos and adventure. I want to share this place as an escape and a retreat for all the people that need to find back the contact with an authentic landscape and community. People here can put their input of ideas and dreams and transform them into reality. I would like this place to become a venue for all sorts of events that can give you a perspective of a life lived in harmony (like yoga, spiritual retreats, and music workshops). It is important to me with this project to deliver the message that with a little bit of stubbornness and persistence everything is possible. I am currently building a house with local eco-materials (cob and stones) and I am designing a food forest on my garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn how to build a house with eco-materials. They will learn how to live in a small community and interact with friendly oldies from the village. They will learn that everything is possible with a little bit of stubbornness and willingness. They will learn how to be creative and use the available local resources.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to have people that know already a little bit about eco-building and construction. I am building my house with cob and stones and use as much as possible local and recycled material from my community. I also want to create a food forest and from next spring (2019) it would be nice to have somebody helping with planting trees. It would be nice to have people that can give their own input and ideas to the project, I am open to new ideas and trying new things.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a house in the village with 6 bedrooms (each one as double beds to accommodate couples) and 3 bathrooms, 1 kitchen and 1 living room. So you will have your own bedroom and you will have to share the bathrooms in case there are more people. The food is provided, there is a grocery shop in the village and a supermarket in the main town, so people can choose the food that they like the most. We will be eating together and we will make a schedule for cooking. Sometimes also my grandma and auties will help with that. No problem in providing vegetarian food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you can relax in the house or in the land. Volunteers can go hiking in the local mountains, they can go to the river where there is a really nice beach or to the nearby town with public buses or I can drive them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 483496636514