Join an active family and help renovate their future home in South Burgundy, France

Country

France

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and join us in South Burgundy! We are renovating our future house and we need help on the building site but also with our 3 lovely and active kids. An occasion for you to discover a lot about sustainable building and about our way of living in the French countryside, you’ll experiment good local food and learn tons of French jokes!

    We are a family of 5 living in a beautiful part of South Burgundy (France). Romain is a designer, working for community projects. Adele is also designer and used to work for a non-profit organisation welcoming groups in an organic farm. For a few weeks, she is now dedicated to our renovation project. Our 3 kids are very nice children, lively, happy and full of imagination! They are used to playing outdoors in nature, they love to discover the names of plants, trees, climb everywhere and find treasures!

    On a daily basis, we like to share good times with friends and a whole bunch of kids. We are very attached to a simple way of life and respectful of the environment. We eat organic, and we are fortunate to have a great network of organic farmers in the region who provide us with delicious products fresh and seasonal (vegetables, cheese, meat, bread...).

    About our renovation project: we bought our future family house in 2016 and have since started major renovations. This old farmhouse typical of the region is a stone house with a large garden, apple trees, sheep... For now we can not live there, we have a large apartment in a small village 10km away. For the renovation of our house, we are very committed to using sustainable materials, techniques that respect the old building ... We used wood from the forests of the family of Romain, we will make the insulation in earth and straw...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn French with our children and with us of course. Eole and Romain will not fail to teach you good jokes!
    You will discover our way of life in the French, in the countryside, with all our network of friends engaged in the ecology.
    You will learn different construction techniques on our site, especially with the soil and straw in late July and late August.
    You can learn to cook good meals with fresh products with Adele.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are a handyman or woman! We do most home renovations ourselves and always need help on the job site. This summer we have planned several projects to make the insulation of the house by the interior in straw and earth. We will need help to prepare wooden frames, pull power cables, collect straw bales, tidy up the yard... No need to be a carpenter or electrician, there are plenty of tasks to do accessible to all!
    If you like to take care of children: children are on vacation July and August. Some weeks the smallest will be at the nursery but the big 2 will be there. They will be delighted to make you discover their hut, the wash-house of the village, the surrounding forest ...
    And as in any hyper-active family, there is always something to do to help with storage, drying clothes, preparing vegetables...
    If you're a couple / team of 2 travelling, we can welcom both of you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on your preference, you can either be independent living on the renovation site (possibility to install a small room or a tent, dry toilet and solar shower), or we can welcome you to our apartment in 10 km the site (we will reserve a room especially for you).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside, you can enjoy the calm, nature but we cannot guarantee you nightlife connections! In our region there is a lot of heritage to discover (church, old abbey...), Cluny is a very pretty little touristic town with few nice shops, a typical market... We live a few kilometres from the ecumenical Christian community of Taizé. We can lend you a bike but know that the region is pretty hilly! If the opportunity arises, we will be very happy to show you some nice spots in the area. If you want to explore, you can leave Cluny by bus to Lyon (1:30 bus + train), Dijon...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 483463497121