Help us with the garden and grounds in Alloa, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 212 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    I live on a steading with my husband Brian and my two children Becky 14 and Cameron 17, which we have been renovating for the past few years. We have two dogs, two indoor cats and two outdoor cats. We have 12 acres of land which includes a 4 acre woodland. I have a stable block and large riding arena with a few acres of usable grazing fields as well as a few acres of current rough scrub-land. I have a beautiful 8 year old sport horse but she is currently out on loan so don't have her at home at the moment.

    We have a large walled garden that would need looking after as well as general duties/maintenance around the steading including painting, digging, collecting wood etc. Helping in the house would also be a bonus as I work full time so don't have much time to keep on top of everything!! If you are a keen cook or baker, that would be even better!!

    We are in a good location, positioned within a short distance from the historic Royal Burgh of Culross in Fife, approximately 9 miles west of Dunfermline. Also found in Culross are the Abbey, Palace and a number of other historical buildings ranging as far back as the 16th century. Culross was actually one of the locations used for the filming of Outlander and a few other movies.

    On the doorstep of the steading lies the Fife Coastal Path & Cycle Track. The Devilla Forest is a short walk away and provides many excellent tracks for walkers and cyclists. The following local places of interest are slightly further away :

    Helix Park (Falkirk) & the Kelpies
    Falkirk Wheel & canal network
    Stirling Castle & Dunfermline Abbey

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This would give the person a good understanding of what is involved in owning or maintaining land and looking after animals as well as letting them experience this historic part of Scotland and well known landmarks like the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies.

  • Help


    I am looking for someone who loves animals and who is happy to work outdoors in all weather. I have a large walled garden which also needs lots of attention as well as it would be great to have someone who could help tidy up my land and woodland. From this you can tell that I would require someone with a keen interest for the outdoors, healthy and strong and that also loves animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A four berth caravan for your sole use would be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Edinburgh, Glasgow and Stirling are all easily accessible from this area as would take roughly 40 minutes. Beaches are also available within a 30 minute drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 per week, max 5 days a week

Our newest member of the family - Brodie the Dalmatian/Doberman cross. He is now huge and full of fun.
Mac the Labrador and Jess
Cameron at the Falkirk Wheel standing next to the miniature Kelpie statues.
Becky on the Forth Bridge with the Forth Railway Bridge behind.
Family photo taken at a hotel whilst celebrating my 50th birthday 3 years ago.

Host ref number: 483344612314