Llamas, sheep, dogs, hens, emus and lots of wild birds at our farm an hour from Perth in Western Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 248 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are retired from work and live full time on our 83 acre/34 hectare property about an hour's drive North East of Perth. We share our farm with a herd of llamas, a flock of stud Suffolk sheep, several German Shorthaired Pointer dogs, two pet emus, lots of wild kangaroos and about 60 species of wild birds. We grow organic vegetables and fruit as well as large numbers of trees. We've really loved hosting Workawayers from six different countries and they all seem to have enjoyed their stay with us, helping with shearing, lambing, training baby llamas and sheep, showing sheep, hosting llama agility events and llama walks, gardening, fencing and lots more. We offer a modern fully self contained cottage to stay in and the possibility of using a small car. We'll treat you like family and hope you'll feel the same way about us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    General help around the house and farm is the main thing. This entails animal feeding and maintenance, such as shearing, drenching and weighing, with the possibility of caring for the farm while we are away overnight. There is also weed and fallen timber control and cleaning out of barn and sheds. Depending on the season, we may have baby llamas, lambs or pups to be looked after. It would be nice to have some main meals prepared and have help with domestic cleaning and maintenance of our house and the cottage.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A fully equipped, modern, self contained two bedroom cottage, about 100 metres from the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are not on a public transport route but if needed can allow the use of a manually operated small car (Toyota Yaris). Volunteers need to be fairly strong and reasonably fit and not afraid of working with fairly large animals. My husband reads and understands German. We have travelled extensively and are interested in foreign cultures. We would be more than happy, on a limited basis, to show visitors around and help them with their English, if needed. There are some nice places to explore the bush close by and on our farm too. The Swan Valley is only 10 minutes down the road and central Perth a half hour's train ride from Midland. We can take and pick up people to and from bus and train stations and most of the time are able to take people to various local attractions including a very nice wildlife park where you can interact with koalas and kangaroos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours maximum 5 days a week.











Host ref number: 481948125411