1 / 2

Permaculture gardening and help with animals near Santana do Mato, Portugal

  • Favourited 2 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple, 58, 55, living with 6 dogs and 3 horses. We live on 5 ha, part field part garden part buildings part forest. We are schooling ourself in gardening, no dig, permaculture etc. Having a balanced existence or trying to.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My official skill is riding instructor so if it would fit, i have been working with horses all my life and i am a certified international trainer. However my approach to horses changed drastically over the years. Another one of my interests is dog Psychology and communication, i can share some of that.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 1 or 2. People. In summer, May - October my wife is in Spain most of the time. I try to grow food, as well as it goes. I made a greenhouse, gardens etc. Still adding, still thinking. I need to take care of the 3 horses, 1 mare 21 y. With skin problems, 1 Spanish gelding, 16 y. Portugese gelding 11 y. I work both from the ground and ridden when i have time.
    To make a long story short, it is a great place to be but much work by myself. If there was someone who could share my pleasure and my burden at times, i think that could be a good thing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small caravan stationed. I will attach a floor and a tent and this makes a great place to stay. We stayed in it for a month before we could move into the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is my first time here and I am a bit apprehensive. I am looking for someone to stay bit longer time, 3/4 weeks or so if things fit personally.
    Specially around the animals I have a set of rules and regulations that you will have to follow. It is not difficult. Only natural. It is very quiet here, so you have to like that. You have to be at least positive towards cannabis. We do not use tobacco. We are not injected and are very much opposed to all that comes from that side. Freedom fighters welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space, close to electric hook up

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 481264712129

Photos

Feedback

Help with organic gardening and building in Faial da Terra, Sao Miguel
Join us on an enchanting regenerative project in Alentejo, Portugal