Help around the property, gardening and animal care in Hautes Pyrenees, France



Favourited 381 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are not currently looking for helpers.

    We are a Simon and Suzanne, a British couple who have just retired from running holiday letting accommodation in the Pyrenees, and are moving to a renovated farmhouse in the French countryside near Lannemezan. It is a calm, peaceful village with a view of the Pyrenees

    We will need occasional help with gardening work and chicken care. We have two adult Border Collies and a litter of puppies, one of which we will be keeping. It is essential that helpers have experience of keeping and training dogs, as well as training and socialising puppies.

    In our hectare of grounds we will be keeping geese, ducks and chickens for eggs and/or meat. Completing the menagerie are two cats.

    We would like volunteers to stay for two weeks, but this period can often be extended if both parties are happy with the arrangement. We ask for a commitment of five hours per day for five days, with two days off, in return for your own accommodation, and breakfast, lunch and three-course evening meal, eaten with us. Hours and days off can be flexible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to show helpers around the local area and introduce them to the local culture. People can learn about cooking, gardening, vegetable growing and animal care as well as how to operate a range of power tools.

  • Help


    Volunteers must like animals and be non smokers. People who like dogs in particular and who are used to handling them will be especially welcome. Other than that, the only prerequisites are flexibility, a sense of humour and a willingness to get stuck in.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation will be in a bedroom with en-suite bathroom, with access to laundry facilities, TV and WiFi.

    In terms of catering, Suzanne has a number of dietary restrictions involving many of the protein sources in vegetarian diets, and for this reason we are unable to cater for vegetarians and vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can give you advice on local activities and help you arrange them, or lend you a mountain bike. Suzanne (native English speaker, but fluent in French) can help you perfect your French, and never tires of sharing her knowledge of raising poultry and goats.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 479811711372