Join us on our little farm and enjoy the beautiful island of Nyord, Denmark

  • Favourited 190 times
  • Last activity: 26 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are Marianne and Kenneth and we live on the small Island Nyord, north of Møn.
    Nyord is a small community with only 30 inhabitants. Our little village is very idyllic and beautiful. Nyord is known for its rich wildlife and beautiful nature. Nyord is also a part of the Dark Sky park and community and also UNESCOs Biosphere Møn.
    And then we live in one of the largest bird sanctuaries in eastern Denmark.

    We live on an old listed farm where there is always something to do. We have a field where we grow vegetables and then we have 25 chickens which are very spoiled.
    We mainly need help in the field/ garden and help with small repairs and painting on the farm. Help with cleaning and tidying up may also be needed around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We ourselves are very happy to travel and have been to many places in the world. We know how great it is to experience other cultures and learn how other people live their lives.
    We have both worked and lived abroad and experienced how important it is that the locals take the time to show one around and introduce one to the local area.

  • Help


    We mainly need help in the garden and help with small repairs and painting on the farm. Help with cleaning and tidying up may also be needed.

    The base setup is 5 hours help, 5 days a week for house and board. Hours are very flexible - there will be some long days and some short days - it depends on what we are doing that day. We often need help over the weekend, so you will have days of doing the week. It can also be arranged that you can have several days off to go and see another part of Denmark.
    We do consider participating in food preparation, dinner and cleaning up after meals as a part of normal family life and cultural exchange - and not work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a small house, a couple of guest rooms and a caravan on the farm, which can be a base for you and others who want to visit and stay with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Most year, there is no public transport to Nyord and the nearest bus station is 12 km away. If you do not want to walk or cycle, then it is possible to get from the island with a flextrafik. It is a taxi you order and only pay the same as for a bus ticket.
    In July and august there is a free bus.
    We also have a couple of bikes you can borrow, while you stay with us.

    You can not be afraid of spiders, birds or mosquitoes. We have quite a few spiders on the island, though none huge or dangerous. But because we live in the middle of a bird sanctuary, there must be something all the birds can live on :)

    We eat all kinds of vegetables, meat, fish, diary products, and what ever the field provides us and therefore it can be difficult for us to accommodate vegans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 477393423183

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us create a place where animals, plants and people are happy in Nykøbing Sjælland, Denmark
Stay with our homeschooling family on Bornholm, Denmark