Colour V Ranch. Join us on our farm in beautiful rural BC. We have horses, cows, pigs, chickens, dogs, cats, gardens, and more, Canada



Favourited 88 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Hello, we are Colour V Ranch, a family run farm in north central BC. We raise cattle, pigs, and horses. And also have milk cows, chickens, turkeys, dogs, and cats. We raise animals for meat that is hormone and medicated free and in a good caring environment, we also have a large garden and try to supply most of our vegetable needs through that in the summer. It is always busy on the farm and help is always needed. There is daily feeding and care of the animals, also care of the vegetable and flower gardens. We also have 4 children, ages 9, 12, and 14, and a baby. We like to be active in our remote community. We live 30 minutes from the town centre, and live in the beautiful country side full of trees, mountains, hills, lakes, creeks, and even some waterfalls. We are also doing many building projects, some within the house (like new floors and kitchen) and some outside (fencing, barn, root cellar). Any experience with construction or horse training would be of great help, but not necessary. We love learning about other countries far away and love inviting people into our family. We are also a very musical family (ok, parents not so much, lol, but our kids are wonderful, they play piano, guitar, and violin/fiddle, and some times other instruments too.).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love welcoming others into our lifestyle and our family and at the same time learning about them and their country. Even though our life is busy we do find time to do other fun things too, like going on hikes in the nature, visiting waterfalls and lakes and rivers, going horseback riding. We live near a lake and you can ride a bike there, and can walk and see beautiful nature around our large farm, 220 acres at the home site (and more further down our road in hayfields). We also experience some of the best sunrises and sunsets anywhere. Have your camera ready. You would come and live with us as part of the family, a bedroom in the house for you, and eat your meals with us and come to town trips and daily outings with us if you'd like. We go to church on Sundays in a little country church and welcome guests to come with us.

  • Help


    Tasks would be different depending on the day, but always there is daily feeding and care of the animals, also would be help with ongoing projects, such as building fences, renovations inside the house (building or painting), construction of farm buildings, gardening (vegetable and flower), weeding, harvesting, preserving, milking the cow, the occasional time babysitting the children. Training horses if the experience is there. Helping with cattle round up, or branding, or birthing, helping during harvest season for hay. Also help with cleaning inside the house, such us cleanup after meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You have your own bedroom within our house. Bathroom is shared and other living spaces are shared. And all meals are eaten with us as a family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 2 days off

Host ref number: 476883974865