Experience British village life close by London, United Kingdom


United Kingdom


Favourited 718 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description



    We are a small household in the village of Oxshott, Surrey, near London, England. The house consists of Dominic, a 42 year old wheelchair user, Naomi, (Dominic's primary carer). Naomi's partner Russ, and her brother Tim, are frequent visitors.

    We are looking for single people or couples who would like to volunteer here.

    Dominic is not working because of his disability. We all have busy separate social lives, plus we socialise a lot together. Dominic relies on carers for him to be able to continue his social life and for certain tasks indoors, especially his morning routine. His disability is quite severe as far as his mobility is concerned (he is a young stroke survivor).

    Naomi helps him out daily not only with his essential routine, but also companionship and social events. We rely on the help from workaway to organise a roster of care for Dom. It is imperative our workaway has a drivers license and can speak some conversational English. We like to plan our roster so that the workaway has at least two full days off. The other days consist of about three hours in the mornings, an hour around lunch time then the rest of the day is free time usually. Occasionally we need the workaway to prepare the evening meal as well.

    Naomi usually cooks the evening meals however everyone is welcome to help with this. The workaway is expected to prepare their own breakfast and lunch and we are happy to provide the evening meal.

    Some domestic cleaning and household duties of the living area are required. The workaway will have their own private bedroom and a shared bathroom which is their responsibility to keep clean and tidy.

    We are all fun loving and enjoy music, movies, chat & laughter, the occasional glass of wine or two or three. We frequently head out to some of the largest venues in London (25 minutes away) for music gigs and various other shows. There is an opportunity for the workaway to drive Dom to a gig or two, so it would be useful if you feel confident about driving around London.

    Locally there is some beautiful countryside to enjoy. Oxshott station is a ten minute walk away and trains to London take 30 - 40 minutes.

    We are well travelled people ourselves. Between us we have spent much time in Europe, Australia, and other countries. Dominic's disability makes it challenging to travel and occasionally he is able to do so.

    We are the owner of a wonderful cat, Ham, so is important to us that any visitors enjoys cats and do not have any allergies to them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are ideally placed to get into London for sight seeing etc.
    The opportunity to spend time with some very sociable people who can help with improving English.
    The opportunity to go to places like the Royal Albert Hall.
    Naomi cooks great food!

  • Help


    We are looking at having one workaway or a couple stay with us. It is important to us that our workaways have the ability and willingness to assist Dom with daily activities and some companionship for Dominic. There will be occasion when the workaway will be solely responsible for Dom's care. This will only be expected after a week or so of settling in.

    The vital tasks are carrying out the morning routine, which is helping Dominic get up in the morning, giving him his morning coffee, food preparation etc.

    Other help could be driving Dominic to events in London, to which the workaway will always get a complimentary ticket. These events can range from rock gigs to classical music events, Stage shows to Live comedy. A full cultural experience for someone to enjoy. THE WORKAWAY VOLUNTEER MUST HAVE A DRIVERS LICENSE.

    It is important that the workaway will be willing and able to prepare an evening meal for Dominic on occasion.

    The workaway will be expected to maintain cleanliness around the home, this may mean emptying bins and sorting recycling, regular use of the dishwasher etc. Housekeeping and general cleaning routines such as hoovering every morning and keeping your own area neat and clean. The workaway has a private private bedroom, shared bathroom (with shower or bath) and wifi access.

    Above all we would like the workaways to integrate into the lifestyle and social calendar of our household.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    The workawayer would be staying in a bedroom upstairs with shared bathroom and with use of other communal areas, the downstairs lounge with Dominic and also the back garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The county of Surrey is very well positioned in the south of England in order to discover London easily (45 mins by train), plus the south coast is not far (1 hour by car). There are many points of interest within easy reach and can be explored easily as day trips. Oxshott is located 10 minutes from the Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, including Box Hill National Trust site. The immediate area of Oxshott is very picturesque and has a vast area of forest surrounding it, plus beautiful river walks are located nearby. If you enjoy the natural beauty of the countryside, but are keen to visit the City easily, then it is the ideal location. The train station is a 5 to 10 minute walk from our home. The train costs approximately £12 return to London and back and runs every half hour during the week and hourly on the week-end.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 Hours per day, 5 days

Dom and Yona at Aquaphysio Session
Dom & Workaway Yona with Ham the cat
Dom & our workawayer Karla at the Royal Albert Hall
Our back garden
The sights of London are only 30 minutes away
Ham the cat
Our little house
Box Hill
Oxshott Woods
The River Mole, Cobham near Oxshott

Host ref number: 475584715361