Gardening/permaculture and natural building projects in Corfu, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Colleen (34), I was born in Germany, grew up internationally and moved to Corfu in 2016.

    I am a Naturopath, I offer holistic health consultations and tailored treatment protocols for a vast range of ailments.

    My Partner is an artist who works with natural building materials, upcycling, wood work, macrame, steel and what ever is laying around.

    We are social, open-minded, creative, knowledgeable, and excited to share and co-create. We love jamming with friends, having BBQs, go hiking, explore the nature and have a good laugh!

    We live on our 10,000m2 piece of land, covered in with more than 70 olive trees that had been cut down to the stump with new 3m long branches growing, a diversity of others tree, grasses, flowers, etc.; access to a seasonal creek and a few sub-climates. We are living in our caravan and have a water tank, solar system, huegelkulture-lasagna vegetable gardens and composting toilet.

    We are specifically looking for couples or 2 friends with experience in permaculture, gardening, working the land, natural and upcycled building and food forest creation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Corfu is a lush green island with incredible diversity. The high tourist season (May-October) offers many alternative/spiritual festivals including an ecstatic dance festival, Agape Zoe festival and much more. The low tourist season (November-April) is an invigorating time in the nature, to be private on the beach, hike along wonderful trails, collect wild growing food (depending on the season we have wild greens, asparagus, fruit and medicinal herbs growing).
    I am passionate about sharing my knowledge on herbal and nutritional medicine, and how we can live in harmony with ourselves, others and nature. Jorge is very knowledgeable about local plants and culture. I am excited to share with you my naturopathic knowledge and health insights. We gather with local and international, like-minded people regularly where we cook and eat together, Jam on various drums and instruments, and talk about how we can achieve sustainable living inside-out.

  • Help

    Help

    To be very frank, our ideal workers are a couple or two friends. We need skilled workers who can work independently, are keen to learn and share skills, and who are flexible and motivated. There are several permaculture projects going on including maintaining and propagating the garden, pruning olive trees, creating swales and water catchment systems, clearing the land from the fern and blackberry overgrowth. We will be making an outdoors cooking space with cob pizza over and would like some support.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a medium sized tent and sleeping gear. During some times of the year a caravan is available.
    We offer 2 shared meals, coffee and tea on the days that we work together. There is space in the fridge and cooking facilities for you to be independent for the other meals and days. We are omnivorous and if you have special dietary requirements you can find what you need in local supermarkets.
    There is an outdoor (cold) shower and composting toilet. Water can be boiled for warm showers!
    We have WiFi and mobile phone reception. The land is a 25 minute walk from the beach, 5 minute drive.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to be social, work hard, cook and jam together. We also appreciate our own time and encourage independence for our helpers. Renting a car or scooter to explore the areas is a great way to be free and experience the island in your own time. We are a 10 minute walk from a supermarket that is open all year. Once per week we can go to the bigger supermarket together if you decide not to rent a transport vehicle.

    We have some core values that we hope everyone can stick with. These include being honest, kind and respectful, staying in touch with your needs and appreciating those of others, nurturing awareness of self and others, respecting the locals and their way of life, practicing non-violent communication, working with enthusiasm and independence. Having a good laugh!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 474712925128