Workaway on beautiful Magnetic Island in North Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 308 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    269

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Peter and I'm blessed to live on beautiful Magnetic Island in tropical North Queensland.

    I am a social worker with a strong commitment to social justice and the environment, so in my household I like to promote open-mindedness, respect, trust and tolerance :-) I've travelled extensively and so understand the joys and challenges of being 'on the road'. But I keep coming back to Magnetic Island, and if you visit here, you'll probably understand why!

    My household can vary a bit - sometimes the house is full of family, friends, and/or guests, but often it is just me. I generally work full-time during the week and so would prefer hearing from couples or pairs of friends who can keep each other company when I'm not around, but if you're an independent, self-sufficient individual, that could work too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Help

    Help

    My house and garden are in a constant state of change/repair/development and so there are always lots of jobs, big and small, to get involved in. This might mean helping out in the garden, doing some housework or doing handy-person jobs such as painting, maintenance etc. Most of the tasks that need doing around the place don't require any special skills, just a willingness to get stuck in and do the job, but if you have special skills or trade experience, I'd love to know about that too!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is located in Nelly Bay, on Magnetic Island. It is an older style 'Queenslander' House, with lots of outdoor spaces and surrounded by green. It is very close to public transport for moving around the Island and just a 15 minute walk (5 minute bus ride) from the ferry terminal to Townsville. The ferry from Townsville takes about 25 minutes and runs frequently during the day and evening.

    The house is two-storeys and there is a self-contained 2 bedroom apartment in the downstairs section, each bedroom has a queen size bed, and there is kitchen, small sitting area and a bathroom with toilet and shower located there as well.

    I would usually provide the 'makings' for breakfast and lunch (which you would need to make for yourselves) and we can work out what to do for dinner of an evening. I'm a very flexible person so if you have suggestions about other arrangements - let's talk!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Magnetic Island is a very beautiful place and there are lots of things to do, particularly if you enjoy getting out into nature. There are fantastic walking trails very close to the house, and lots of gorgeous beaches very close by. Swimming, snorkelling, kayaking, bushwalking etc are all very popular activities on the Island. There is an excellent local bus-service which can take you around to many of the best spots on the island.

    A full-range of services are available on the island - bars, cafe's and restaurants, supermarkets and shops, doctors etc., and the ferry service runs frequently during the day and evening if you want to head over to the mainland (a 25 minute trip).

    This part of Australia can be a little intense in terms of weather between (approximately) December and March, as this is our 'wet-season'. Hot, humid, sometimes stormy and occasionally there may be cyclones. Swimming in the ocean may be restricted during this time due to marine stingers, but there are 2 safe swimming enclosures on the island. Having said that, many people love this time of the year for the intense heat and lush tropical greenness.... The rest of the year it is generally just gorgeous!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, but we're flexible!







Host ref number: 474699238563