Building, Farming, Animal Husbandry, Green Tea, Macadamias, Vegetables.. Help Wanted Biodynamic Organic Kangaroo Valley, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4952

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Giday I am Peter Botsman. My most important attributes.. well.. first and foremost..I am the father of three fantastic boys who now have their own lives in Sydney and London. So for a while I am a bit short handed... I have had lots of woofers over the years and I like to think that people who come and live with us are part of the extended world family. I run a biodynamic farm - basically the highest form of organic farming with Scottish Highland cattle, alpacas, one horse and one dog! I am a passionate advocate for Aboriginal Australians and work as national secretary (voluntary) of the Indigenous Stock Exchange which has been raising start up capital for Aboriginal businesses since 2004. I have some great tips for travelling in the remote areas and meeting some wonderful Aboriginal guides. Our rambling fibro house is completely enclosed by rain forest. There are lots of interesting jobs on the farm: fencing, gates, slashing, green tea harvesting, macadamia nut harvesting, animal husbandry, feeding alpacas, dogs and horses, building sheds and treehouses, shelters, cattle pens... a million things.. Always in need of good carpenters.. anyone who wants to work with animals. ..A car of some kind is probably needed in Kangaroo Valley. However there are beautiful beaches within a half an hours drive (Seven Mile Beach) and a bit further a field is the unforgettable Jervis Bay. There are wonderful bush walks all around our property as it borders onto a national park. You can walk for days without seeing another person. There is a great walk up to Burrawang Pub which will take about five hours. I have enjoyed the company of many willing workers on organic farms from Italy, France, Canada, Poland, England, the Netherlands, Japan, China and some even from Australia. Just about everyone who has worked on the farm has become part of the family. Beautiful fresh meat, macadamia nuts, green tea, vegetables from the garden is available in season at a reasonable price. Music is very important part of our lives. My three sons come home on holidays to work on the farm. Two live in Sydney and one in London. My partner Brigitte and her daughter Soraya 8 years old live at the farm and we do revolve on week days around school hours. Soraya loves to play board games and outwit the adults!! Theres always something to do here and we try to give you a bit of local knowledge and advice for your travels.
    Best regards, happy and safe travels
    Peter

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Farms can be 12 hour a day 7 day a week occupations! But I try not to work that hard.. and it is wonderful to have extra help. There are always fences to fix, gates to fit and pastures to maintain. Then there are our Scottish Highland cattle, alpacas, horse and dogs. As well we have ongoing maintenance on our house and buildings.. We have several projects building sheds, decks and other things at present.

    My priorities at present are replacing my kitchen roof, installing some french doors on one of the bedrooms, fixing up a treehouse as an artists studio, putting a deck alongside my office shed, pruning the jungle around my house.. and the list goes on. So I am most grateful for builders, carpenters, gardeners, arborists.. and anyone who wants to lend a hand.. Lots of fun things to do.. and hopefully we will always have fun in whatever we do...!!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Smattering of Italian, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live on an idyllic farm in the beautiful Upper River part of Kangaroo Valley. I have had many international travellers helping on my organic farm. We have internet facilities. We share a bathroom and kitchen. Our house is a four bedrom 1950s fibro shack which we have renovated there is a deck and a pool in summer. We have a rain-forest area adjoining the house and a macadamia nut plantation, along with citrus, apples, pear and lime trees. We also have about 100 Scottish Highland cattle, 3 horses, currently 3 chooks, 2 alpacas and 2 lovely dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some wonderful walks around our property and into the adjoining national park. You can walk for an hour or a couple of days depending on your fitness. There is a lovely walk up through wilderness area and then up to a road and onto the pub voted the best in NSW at Barrawang. A good reward after a 15 kilometre walk up the escarpment.

    You really need a car in Kangaroo Valley. This will give you the freedom to explore the town and beyond to wonderful Jervis Bay, Berry on the coast and/or Bowral in the Southern Highlands the home of Donald Bradman, Mary Poppins and a cute place to visit.

    The Kangaroo Valley pub is always good value and there are curios shops, a good restaurant Jing Jo's which needs bookings to confirm a spot.

    Kangaroo Valley is not the greatest for public transport but there are two daily buses to the nearby towns of Bowral, Nowra and Moss Vale which links up with interstate and Sydney trains.

    Our place is just one of the beautiful places in the world. We are very passionate about Aboriginal Australia and there are many places on our property where Aboriginal people have lived for thousands of years. If you are lucky you might share our house with some of our many Aboriginal visitors from the north, south, and west of Australia. We can also take you to see our wonderful healing tree, a unique and wonderous Cedar that is as old as modern European Australia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 474623298267