Come and help our family with a little seasonal hosting in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    384

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with a 2 years old girl. We accommodate tourists during the high season in our farmhouse and we looking for someone to help us for cleaning and caring the accommodations. We offer some money depending by the time you spend during the cleaning. During the spring we need help for vegetable garden and olive pruning. In autumn we spend a lot of time working with olive harvest

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will stay in the tuscany countryside.
    We love to use the wood oven for baking bread or pizzas and cooking different meals. It is a great experience! You can learn the way to prepare meal using a traditional technique, with renewable fuel (wood or foliage), as our ancestors done during the centuries in the past.
    It will be possible to learn how the olive picking works and partecipate to the next pressing at a specialized mill.
    During the free days it's possible to reach the main cities of art of Tuscany. Our location is very strategic to do it!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for gardening.
    We have some vegetable gardens in our place. During the spring we seed and plant a lot of vegetables. We will use that for our consumption, preparing specially preserves.
    Furthermore we love to have flowers around our house, so we used to care this aspect: flower pots have to be composed, flowers have to be planted.
    Moreover the spring is period of pruning: our olive threes need to be pruned; hedges too; and every 15 days the lawn mowers needs to work...

    The autumn is period of olive harvest. We have 300 olive trees.
    When it does not rain, the morning starts to work after the dew has dried. This means after 9.
    The olive harvest works like this: long nets are spread out under the trees, then the precious fruits are collected manually, letting them fall to the ground, paying great attention not to crush them with the feet; when it is finished, put the olives in small containers and start again with the following trees. At the end of the day the olives are transported to a covered place.
    When 300 kg of olives (700 lb) are reached, pressing is done in a specialized olive oil mill.
    Two people collect an average of 50 kg (100 pounds) per day

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in the flat that we rent during the summer. The flat has a kitchen where is possible to cook or prepare the breakfast.
    Lunch and dinner are prepare together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is situated at 15 km from the closer train station. We recommend to have a car of your own. Anyway we can pick up you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 473894715291