Help with our garden and learn from professional gardeners near Cambridge, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    An opportunity to work with Roland & Andrew who are two RHS qualified gardeners in their 4 acre garden and woodland on the Suffolk / Cambridgeshire border. We live in a ranch style chalet bungalow quietly situated but just 15 minutes drive from Newmarket, famous for it's horse racing and 30 minutes drive from the beautiful University city of Cambridge. Newmarket has a swimming pool, gym and weekly market. There is plenty of beautiful Suffolk countryside around us and a number of walks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chance to gain gardening / horticultural experience from RHS qualified and experienced gardeners and chance to practice the use of English as a first language.

  • Help

    Help

    Help maintaining the 4 acre garden and woodland. This includes grass cutting, strimming, tree management and general tidying. Chance to work alongside experienced gardeners . In addition, there will be chance to do some shed and fence treatments

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Will be staying in the main house with own bedroom. Generally meals will be eaten with the hosts.
    The workaway will be provided with breakfast, lunch and evening meal each day as part of their stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only 30 minutes drive from the beautiful University City of Cambridge which has fast train connections to London. Our lovely next door neighbours who have 15 acres regularly have workaways staying so there may be the opportunity to hang out with them during time-off. This is our first hosting but we regularly spend time with our workaways visiting next door and look forward to hosting our own,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 469274183368